Laundry

So hubby has just accused me of not doing laundry yesterday. For any of you who are also housewives in Japan, you’ll understand just what an insult that is. It’s kind of like being asked “What did you do to this soup?” by someone making a gagging sound, except worse.

I’m not too clear on the “yesterday” part…

The truth is that I, along with probably 100,00,000 other women in Japan, do laundry every single day. Pregnant pause. We are virtual slaves to the process of laundry. Days, weeks, of activity are planned around the laundry. There is even a special section on the weather report in the morning pertaining to the laundry. Why, you ask? Because it must be hung outside to dry. At the break of dawn. And even then it doesn’t get dry half of the time.

Why can’t you just throw it in the dryer, you ask? Because there is no room in my rabbit hutch of a home for such a luxury, and even if there was, I couldn’t afford to use it because power is not cheap here, and even if I were rich we all have to conserve energy thanks to Tepco’s brouhaha up in Fukushima.

The truth is in the almost nine years I have been married, there have been only two days when I did not do the laundry. The first is when I went into labor with my second child; the second was when we had to leave for Kyushu in a panic of a hurry after that big earthquake/ nuclear disaster thingy a while back. Which turned out to be a fun trip, but that’s another topic.

And in spite of the fact that I would very much like to NOT do the laundry tomorrow just to make a point, the truth is I will wash it and hang it out at the break of dawn and bring it in come evening, and maybe even get around to folding it and putting it away. Cause I’m just grown-up like that. Maybe one day it will rub off on my husband(*^_^*)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaijinwife
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 13:42:58

    bloody laundry. I don’t think anyway has actually used our couch for its main purpose for months. Has become clean laundry dumping ground :)

    Reply

  2. Céline
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 16:26:29

    Same here… Why do you need a couch for, anyway????

    Reply

Leave a Reply

