The Male Mystery

Anyone who says men are simple, logical creatures have obviously never had to live with one.

I don’t have a lot of energy to write about my husband today. If he were writing this blog I’m sure he would want me to call it “Things I Did Wrong Today.” I’m not really sure why you would go to all the trouble to woo and wed someone and then go about trying to change every aspect of her personality, but that’s what he has done. Seems like it would be faster and less painful to just devote yourself to a lifetime of beating your head against the wall.

Anyway, the Miniature Mystery had a fight with Daddy at the breakfast table this morning. Daddy was teasing him, and when Mini Mys got upset and started to cry, Daddy blew up at him. Banged on the table, yelled, did some name calling, the whole nine yards. Lovely way to start the day. I find myself constantly telling these two the same thing: you have to consider the feelings of others.

So Me First had an emotional start to the day. It’s kind of a stressful time of year with the constant Sports Day practice in the lingering heat.

I could hear Me First before I could see him on the way home- crying, wailing, gnashing of teeth, typical biblical stuff. Something about a Cars 2 card and two boys who live down the street and are in the same class. It’s hard to understand what happened since he never tells the story in chronological order and leaves out any bits that would paint him in a less than attractive light. We don’t have any Cars 2 cards that I know of, though they could be holing up with a big bunch of hankies in his desk at school, for all I know. Me First was easily distracted by a croissant and a glass of milk, so I didn’t give it too much thought.

About ten minutes later, the doorbell rings, and it is one of the aforementioned classmates, bringing a Cars 2 sticker. Hmmm. A few minutes later the phone rings, and it is the other classmate. Maybe this was a bigger deal than I originally thought… All I hear on Bubba’s side is uh-huh, okay, bye. And that seems to be the end of it. Mysterious, indeed.

Of course the real mystery of these smelly bearers of the Y-chromosome is why we find them so irresistible. Brother’s karate teacher yesterday had his Dogi collar open a little too much, and I could totally see half of his manly man chest. (Drools.) He caught me peeking and didn’t seem to mind too much.

Yeppers, I love myself a manly bug-killing manly man. Of course I’d have no idea what to do with one if I had one, kind of like the time Me First caught a butterfly. There’s the thrill of victory, and then what…?

In totally unrelated news, I think I may be developing a celebrity-boy crush on Bruno Mars. I spent a lot of time today googling him. Haven’t found any pics of him spearing a centipede or anything exceptionally masculine yet, so it’s not official. Currently my crush list is limited to naked chested karate teachers, a certain tractor driver in Kyushu, and Clark Gable. (^_−)−☆

Crush worthy?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaijinwife
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 09:51:21

    You really need to get over one of those two crushes no? :) But if it means more trips to Kyushu then I’ll be your biggest cheer girl. literally.

    Hub has spin outs like your hub sometimes and its so immature it drives me insane. The boy is 5 darling. You’re 45. Sort your shit out.

    Reply

  2. hamakkomommy
    Sep 16, 2011 @ 10:21:03

    Will be there in the Spring. It’s more than a crush! (Fluttering eyelashes and blushing.) Can you see my sexy pic of Bruno, by the way? I can aee it just fine, but someone else said they couldn’t….Could be that I just really really want to see it and it’s only a mirage….

    Reply

  3. Coco
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 03:14:19

    Can’t see Bruno! And you are still crushing on the karate teacher?! Guess someone will be taking lessons for many years to come :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

