Dear Daughter…

Dear Daughter,

If you ever feel you need proof that I love you- If giving birth, nursing you for almost three (count ’em) years, plus all the everyday stuff (like cooking, cleaning, taking you to the dr every other day ad infinitum), disciplining you when needed(though it often would have been easier for me to let it go, that is not what’s best for you ) are not enough to convince you, then please look back to your fourth party, when I sprained my neck but made your cake and decorated the house in spite of the pain.

Then I looked back on my own fourth birthday, when in spite of having a two year old and a newborn, my Mom managed to put together a great little party for me, and all of those times I questioned if she really cared about me start to seem kind of stupid. Too bad I was less than well behaved at that party though …I seem to remember an inordinate amount of tears over a lost round of musical chairs.
Hope that one day in the future you’ll have your own little girl you love just as much, but please call me to come help if you sprain anything, okay?

Love,
Mom
ps-will work on my cake decorating skills in the meantime xoxo

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaijinwife
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 19:50:56

    Rockstar princess cake. Bet she LOVED it.
    xxx

    Reply

  2. Margeee
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 08:22:47

    Great cake! You’re a great mom!
    And like me, you will understand your own mother better as each decade passes. You won’t necessarily agree, but you’ll understand.
    Motherhood – the gift that keeps on giving (sometimes what you unwrap is a lump of coal, but the occasional diamond makes it all worthwhile!)

    Reply

  3. hamakkomommy
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 08:54:17

    – wish I’d had a the chance to know Grandma better, think Dad may have presented a rather, ahem, distorted view.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

