In the ‘Tude

I should have known better than to write that “A-Okay” post yesterday. Who am I to tempt fate like that? She got me be back with a big, fat, wedgie.

Word must have gotten around about the choking incident, because I wasn’t the only parent there for pick-up yesterday. There were three others.

All was well at first. We headed off to the pediatrician straight after school. Me Too fell asleep in the stroller, Brother got some meds for his runny nose, and then we headed off to the ice cream shop as a special post-doctor treat.

All was still well, sort of. Brother said he was still hungry and tried to eat Sister’s ice cream, then dashed off into the hundred yen shop in search of snacks. We emerged, amazingly, only 315 yen poorer and headed home.

Then things took a dramatic downturn. The snacks were bought with the clear understanding that they were for AFTER dinner, and that homework was to be done immediately because by now it was getting quite late and dangerously close to that time of evening when Me Too transforms into a werewolf.

Brother gets his “attitude on.” He’s rolling his eyes, mimicking what I say, calling me stupid, yada yada yada. At this point I’m tired, still have dinner and cleaning left to do, and need to get Little Bit to bed. There ain’t time for no sass. So I smacked him.

Which never makes me feel better.

He rushes off to the other room, fuming and probably embarrassed. I get on with what needs doing, and in a bit he wanders back into the kitchen, and tells me he doesn’t like my “attitude” very much either.

And he’s totally right.

I don’t particularly like myself when I’m in “parent mode” either. Things go so much smoother if I listen to what they have to say. I try, I do, and I try not to make value judgements, how he should have done this, next time do that. Daddy does that all the time, and the kids need someone they know will really listen to them.

But honestly, there are only so many times an adult can listen to reasons a first grader doesn’t want to do homework without going ballistic. Though you gotta give the kid points for persistence.

And of course there will be homework again today, and of course I’m tired from having had to spend all day at Me Too’s preschool powwow, so we’ll see how it goes. I’ve got some bubbly in the fridge to reward myself with later if I can keep my cool all afternoon.

Cheers, maybe
*・゜゚・*:.。..。.:*・'(*゚▽゚*)’・*:.。. .。.:*・゜゚・*

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaijinwife
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 23:35:41

    Hope you got through sans attitude and sass and that the bubbly tasted yummy yum yum.

    Reply

  2. hamakkomommy
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 22:46:49

    I fell asleep with the kids, so the only bubbly I ended up with was the bubbles from me slobbering all over my pillow. TMI?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

