Men…Why Bother?

Men.

Can’t live with them….why bother?

We were invited to a birthday party this afternoon. This is kind of a big deal, considering it’s only happened once before and that was four years ago. There was some confusion over whether the invite included daddies or not, but after HRH got his head around the idea of an afternoon to himself, he seemed quite pleased about it.

That’s until I kept the kids out to the ungodly hour of 5:30. Yes, 5:30 pm.

I thought HRH would meet us on the way, or at least meet us at the station. The elevator lets out at a dark alley where I’d rather not be after dark, and by 5:30 it was dusk. I had reason to think he’d meet us; he said it multiple times earlier in the day. The kids kept asking where he was, so it wasn’t just some misunderstanding on my part (again.)

No, no, Daddy was p’ed because he thought we would be home by 5, and now it was 5:30. Never mind that we were the first people to leave the party and that I’d called him long before 5, so it wasn’t like he was sitting around anxiously waiting for our arrival, wondering if we’d drunk drove over a bridge or something.

It’s not as if it’s an unimaginably late hour for the children to be out. They don’t get home till after 6 on Tuesdays when Brother has karate, and of course HRH doesn’t complain when they are out late doing something HE wants to do.

Around 4 o’clock I realized that this was going to be an issue, but the birthday kid was still opening presents and there was no way my kids wanted to leave in the middle of that. What was I supposed to say?

“You’ll have to excuse us now since our Daddy will turn into an @sshole if we don’t leave right away.”

Worse still, this house was f-a-r from the station. I didn’t know the way back, so we would have had to ask someone to walk us. I made the split decision that it would be easier and cause less inconvenience to wait a few minutes.

Sue me.

Now Me Too’s asthma/RAD is acting up, probably due to the weather since a nice blast of fall is coming through, but I can see HIM pacing in the other room giving me dirty looks, so I know whose “fault” he thinks it is.

Do you think 9:45 is too early to just call it a day and go to bed? I gotta feeling I’m gonna get an ear full no matter what I do at this point. (sigh)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaijinwife
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 16:48:45

    I hope he kept his mouth shut and you didn’t get an earful. He should be bloody thankful he had the afternoon to himself and why get upset when he knew, well in advance, what time you would be coming home? It wasn’t like he was cooking you all pasta for dinner was it?? Cause I must admit, if hub says he’s coming home at 6 and we’re having pasta I’ll wait and cook all the pasta at once and it fucks me off if he’s late :p

    But I have a suspicious feeling that you were probably on dinner duties when you got home no?

    xxx

    Reply

  2. hamakkomommy
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 22:45:39

    Of course he wasn’t cooking! Do you think this is Kyushu??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

