Oh,bento

My friend, Gaijin Wife, makes these amazing キャラ弁 (boxed lunches with a cartoon character theme)for her family. She’s even starting a blog about how to make them. Pretty impressive, right?

Yeah, well I can’t do that.

So I thought I’d write a post about a totally average, run-of-the-mill, finished in 10 minutes bento.

At our house, bento has to be made almost every day. Kid sized ones during the week, a huge one on Saturdays when we go to English school.

Today’s bento customer is our four year old princess. She will eat just about anything, but she doesn’t eat very much. Her lunch needs to be something she can eat by herself without help, and it needs to be an amount of food she can actually finish.

The preschool also requires her to bring lots of lunch paraphernalia: wet towel with case, lunch mat, eating utencils (though she probably uses her fingers,) a cup, a bag for the cup (I cannot fathom why that is necessary, either,)and last but not least- a bag to put it all in.

Since I’m making these almost every day, and mostly in the morning, needless to say I don’t do anything fancy. But I may give one of GW’s fabulous creations a try one day, just don’t hold your breath, ‘nkay? (^_^)v

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaijinwife
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 16:44:41

    haha – I wouldn’t make kyaraben if I had to make them every day. Thank bloody god I only HAVE to make them a couple of times a year and all the other times are when I actually feel like being pedantic about cutting out bits of cheese and ham :) Why a cup bag? Having to make one in the mornings every friggin morning! Hats off to you. Wonder what the teachers would say if they rocked up with sandwiches and a yoghurt?

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Oct 03, 2011 @ 22:42:46

      I really don’t understand the cup bag! It’s a great mystery. Y took sandwiches almost every day for the first year, but I did cut them up so they fit into the bento box.

      Do you take requests for your キャラ弁?I’d like an 市原隼人, please and thank you.

      Reply

  2. gaijinwife
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 10:03:36

    haha – yeah right. Doesn’t quite fit the cute animal or superhero mask category. This lady made one…
    http://ameblo.jp/ayasya33/archive1-201002.html

    ganbare.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

