Corona, Please. Hold the Cesium.

Okay, okay I’m back already, “Need To Create” and all that.

I think I’ve found an effective to deal with the inherent shittiness that is today (sorry, Mom.) No, no, it’s nothing cathartic like writing or talking about how I feel, I’m gonna misplace all these crappy feelings of loss and grief! Brilliant!!

My current focus is: beer. I’ve just been to the local grocery store where I got a nice taco kit for only three times the American price. Sweet. So we will be having hard tacos, corn on the cob, broccoli, and pumpkin soup for dinner. What is this meal missing?

Corona.

Every good taco deserves a beer with a lime in it, right? Or a nice, frothy margarita, or a few shots of Jose Cuervo and the sharing of waaayyyy too much personal information. This being Japan and all that, I am prepared to settle for the beer.

Which in Mexico they call Mexican milk. Or that’s what the tour guide said, anyway- that they go straight from the tit to the Coca Cola and then to the Corona. Then he pulled one out and stopped tour guiding for the day. Guess that’s what ya gotta do after a day after watching gringos trudge all over your country’s sacred prehistoric monuments.

He also insisted he learned English from watching the Simpsons, so “Don’t have a cow, Dude.” You could probably follow him around for a year and then pen your memoirs, Caca My Tour Guide Says. Though he may say the same schpeel every time….

So anyway-

I’m at the local grocery store, and of course they don’t have any decent beer or anything besides the kind of sludge FIL drinks. No big surprise. There’s a liquor store next door, so I head over there. They have a lot of cheap wine that was giving me a hangover just looking at it, but no Corona, no Jose Cuervo, nada.

At this point, I’ll settle for a beer in a bottle. Which they also don’t have. (???) Unless I can get HRH to be cooperative enough to stop by the foreign foods store on the way home, we’ll be drinking lemonade with dinner. Or maybe I can make some Sangria with the cheap, headache inducing wine. Either way, I’ll probably regret it in the morning.

-Edit-

Everything got much better when my best Japanese friend called me up and asked if I’d like to go get sushi for lunch. Her littlest has just started daycare and she’s not quite sure what to do with herself. She had no idea today was the crappy-versary, which just made the invite that much more appealing.

Things got kind of murky again when I received YET ANOTHER notice that the city of Yokohama has again discovered cesium in food slated to be used in school lunches.

(T_T)

Whether they actually fed the kids this crud was conveniently left out. Oh, AND we now have roofs covered in strontium, apparently. And I will soon be capable of translating nuclear physics textbooks, so y’all call me when you need that, y’hear?

Moving on (if we could just move on!)…

Tacos were a huge hit with the kids. Me First was so excited, “Giant Chips for dinner?!” We did it self-serve style. It took me a few minutes to realize Sister kept filling her taco shell with meat, eating only the meat, and then refilling it. That is actually quite an impressive skill, don’t you think?

She managed to not break even one taco shell, but HRH had soooo much trouble. He got whiney about it, so I won’t be making tacos for him anytime soon. It’ll go into our “Daddy’s Gone Menu Collection” along with biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, grits, and grilled cheese sandwiches.

Did get my Corona in the end. Of course I had to pay for it by helping HRH with some stupid translating stuff for work. He can’t do it on his own; one day they’re gonna find out. And quite frankly I don’t want to spend two hours translating contracts and not get paid for it! That was totally enough work to deserve at least a toilet cleaning. Did get a cool keychain/bottle opener, but I’m pretty sure that was a freeby that came with the beer. It being shaped like a Corona bottle tipped me off. Oh, and I learned a new word, inure, that I hope to never, ever have to use again.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. gaijinwife
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 08:47:41

    You know my view is that you should just move down to Kunisaki cause it’s just too dangerous for your kids up there. I’m sure mummy would like some more ‘country air’ too. Pretty sure corona is available in 50km radius but not sure about the tacos. You have got me wanting some though so I might have to go on a hunt. Yay for impromptu lunch dates to make a crappy day that little less crappy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

