Proof Is In the Laundry?

This morning while I was hanging out the laundry, most of which was accumulated by HRH while he was away at a conference, I came across a sock without a partner. This isn’t that unusual, right? The washer is like the Bermuda Triangle of Footwear. The strange part is that it is a lady’s sock, but not mine.

Someone remind me please what year this is… 1954?

My first thought was, “Dumb@ss should have at least gotten some panties!”

HRH insists the sock is his; he ran out and needed a pair, but there were no other black socks in the store.

Methinks he deserves a quarterstaff to the hindquarters, whatever the truth. Learn to master the washing machine, Young Man, before you Go West.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Garreth
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 16:26:36

    Words fail me – both at the nature of your discovery and the humour with which you are taking it

    Reply

  2. hamakkomommy
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 17:40:33

    Yep, I’m a good catch! No seriously, it’s not unbelievable. Japanese man on business trip to the US runs out of socks, gets intimaded by Big American Washing Machine, and runs to the drug store and buys the first pair of black socks he sees. Being a man, he doesn’t notice that they are actually navy and have green polkadots….Wife gets suspicious, hilarity ensues. It’ll be a nice scene in my screenplay.

    Reply

  3. Kana Tyler
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 00:42:17

    I’ve so enjoyed your blog, I’m passing along to you the “Versatile Blogger Award.” details at http://kanatyler.wordpress.com/2011/10/25/versatile-blogger/… Thanks for the great reading!
    :) Kana

    Reply

  4. tamariez
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 11:07:46

    lol I look forward to watching this scene in your play one day. =)

    Reply

  5. hamakkomommy
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 10:54:44

    Another lady sock emerged from the laundry, and HRH insisted on wearing them to work today. I guess I’ll have to toss them out when isn’t looking, or maybe I’ll just adopt them and wear them as my own.

    Reply

  6. gaijinwife
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 12:13:34

    Hub thinks I make socks go missing on purpose. I don’t, I just don’t care whether he has a matching pair or not. At least with navy blue polka dots, now that you have the pair, you can match them up easily. Hub’s are all bloody black or gray and have to start looking at thickness of ribbing to match up.

    Reply

  7. Coco
    Nov 05, 2011 @ 00:06:59

    it’s hard to edit a man’s wardrobe, eh? definitely has to be done on the sly. and we think women are the fashionistas! mr. j, you may remember, has several questionable pieces, but other than calling the most style-offending footwear “pimp shoes” i have generally kept my mouth shut. if he wants to wear a loud, cheap, sleeveless printed shirt on his day off, so be it. says more about him and his repressed salarymanliness than me. besides, other people are more vocal and effective than I am. we thankfully had a wardrobe purge recently after another new-to-the-country gentleman identified mr. j on sight as a fellow immigrant by his (lack of) style.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

