MagicLand

This morning I had a chance to confirm something I have long suspected: kids keep you young at heart, when they aren’t busy sending you to an early grave.

Case in point, this morning. As Sister and I were walking Brother to school, the kids noticed a patch on the walkway where the sun reflected off the pebbly surface and made a rainbow. An adult alone probably would not have even noticed, and certainly wouldn’t feel the need to stop. Brother is into “experiments” at the moment, so he begins to observe the rainbow from different angles, heights, distances. He wants to make observations in his notebook, which is at home. I love how he gets so excited about things that have become everyday to the grown-up me, but all of this stopping and smelling the um, rainbows, is making us late for school.

I think our adult world priorities may, surprisingly enough, be totally screwed up. Here I find myself, telling my six-year-old to stop observing the world around him and utilizing the scientific method so he can go to school to learn.(~_~;)

Me Too doesn’t have anywhere she has to be today, so on the way home we visited our rainbow friend again. It had moved a few inches further away, much to my four-year-old’s delight. “It’s magic!” she exclaimed. “We are in Magic Land!”

Indeed, we are.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatimeant2say
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 11:18:33

    I love that you call her “Me Too” and I love that both of them are so appreciative of our Wonderful World! That is a sweet post!

    Reply

  2. gaijinwife
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 20:48:11

    It is sad, that we don’t let them learn enough on their own. But getting to school is on the ‘list’ and it needs to get ticked off so the rest of the day can go on. Hopefully the rainbow is still there over the weekend :)
    xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

