Isn’t this nit?!

The past couple of days at the Hamakko house have gone something like this:
Wake up
Do laundry
Make breakfast
Comb nits
More laundry
More nits
More laundry
More nits
Lunch
Grocery store
Anything I actually needed to do that day….
Snack
Homework
Laundry
Laundry crap it’s not dry!
Laundry
Dinner
Bath
Nits
Nits
Nits
Bed
Hands cramp from so much combing.

I don’t usually wash sheets, pillow cases, and pajamas every day, but I really need to be doing that for the time being. Which means, of course, that the weather has been awful. I think it’s all of Kanto, but it may very well be my own personal storm cloud, I don’t know. I’ve spent so much time combing hair that I haven’t really had a chance to check the cloud perimeters.

For those fortunate enough to have never had The Infestation at your house, let me explain what combing them out involves. You get a tiny comb with your bottle of Skull and Crossbones shampoo. (I had to ask for extra.) Apparently lice can’t move much when they are wet, so while the hair is still wet from a shower, you start with a comb-sized section of hair, and firmly insert the comb into the hair as close to the scalp as possible. You will know it is right when the combee screams. Then you slowly pull the comb away from the scalp to the ends of the hair. Examine the comb. Remove any bugs or eggs. (I use a toothpick.) Repeat until the whole head has been thoroughly combed over. Or until the combers hand freezes up and refuses to move anymore.

Me First now has a crew cut. He also has very course hair, which means I can pretty much comb out the eggs with the bugs. (Hope you weren’t eating, sorry.)

Me Too’s hair is fine, which means I can comb out the bugs, but the eggs have to be removed by hand.

My hair is also fine. And in spite of what my children may think, I don’t actually have eyes in the back of my head. (Don’t tell anyone.) So I can only hope that I’m combing the nasties out. Time will tell, I guess.

In other news, Hamakko Grandma is coming to visit today. Little does she know she’ll be put to work soon after arrival.

Now please excuse me as I go soak my sore hands in BENGAY.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rebecca Whitehead
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 21:57:46

    Fortunately Grandma has experience with lice and pays crazy attention to detail. At least it has infested everyone and there aren’t siblings snickering in the corner and telling the infested how disgusting they are.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

