Santa, Claws

I seem to be reading a lot and talking a lot about people who don’t want to lie to their children about Santa. They think it will do them damage. Santa Claws, so to speak.

Fair enough.

Here in the Hamakko Household, though, we seem to do a lot of lying to the children.

“You’ll feel better in the morning.”
“We all wet the bed sometimes.”
“You’ll understand when you are older.”
“I’m not sleeping, I’m just resting my eyes.”

Etc., etc.

I never really told the children about Santa, but he’s like AKB48 or Exile or that “Kinoko ko ko” song. He’s out there, and he’s unavoidable.

Better than all of those things, though, he’s based on a real person, who happens to have become a saint, and carries on a tradition started by the Wise Men back in the day. When we become Santa for our children and for those less fortunate than us, we carry on that tradition. And as long as someone lives in our hearts, then they aren’t really gone.

I don’t think it’s such a bad thing to believe in, and I doubt that most children feel cheated when they realize Santa isn’t a real, live person. I know I didn’t.

I felt loved. That my parents would go through all of that trouble so that I could be part of a tradition older than America? That was pretty cool.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 22:06:01

    Santa magic is wonderful. I agree with you that this is a cool, benign tradition.

    Reply

  2. kebibarra
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 01:18:37

    Agree. I think it’s kind of sad when parent’s take that part of being a “child” away from their children. Like you said, one day they will know and it’s not like they are going to feel “cheated”

    Reply

  3. Pao
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 12:01:36

    Hi! Happy new year!
    I just found your blog today and I’m really loving it! there’s many foreign-wife-in-japan blogs out there, but yours is one of my favorites so far :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

