Toy Giraffes Have Superpowers

“Toy giraffes have superpowers, so they can protect you from the window,”

Oy vey! Did I really just say that?

Me Too has an unwarranted fear of the window in the bedroom. It’s more of a big sliding door than a window, and it’s cold beside it in the winter so I can’t say I blame her for not wanting to sleep there, but really?? It’s scary?

I mean, sure, I was afraid of my own window in the room I shared with my sister growing up. But, come on, there was a reflection of a witch in it! That disappeared when you turned the light on. Tricky monkey.

The current window situation is complicated by the fact that Me Too is also afraid to sleep by the door, which is on the other side of the room.

Um, that’s kind of the whole room….

She wants to sleep in the middle, between Brother and I. Then she yells that we’re too close and everyone is touching her.

Of course back in Window Witch days, I wasn’t allowed to sleep with my parents.

Sleeping with the kids sucks in a lot of ways. It takes forever to put them down at night beside they need me in there with them until they fall asleep. Being on the receiving end of a bed wetting session isn’t much fun, either.

But for the kids? It must be so nice to know mommy and daddy are right there. If they have a bad dream or whatever, they’re never alone.

And since all this earthquake stuff happened, I’m pretty happy to let them stay in my bed. Between a constant innate fear of natural disasters and Me Too’s spluttering coughing business, I don’t think I would sleep well with them in another room. And it’s just the way things are done here.

There was an episode of Sazae-san (Japanese cartoon loved by all ages) not too long ago where Tara-chan insisted on sleeping by himself. “No!!! “His mother exclaimed,”He’s only three!” The episode ended with Tara-chan sneaking into bed with his grandpa. やっぱり Naturally, from a Japanese point of view. Three is too young to sleep alone. Six? Maybe with a sibling, but not alone.

I will admit, though: the toy giraffe line was probably inappropriate. Me Too didn’t buy it anymore than my imaginary gun that shoots imaginary monsters in the closet. Too grown-up, these kids today. Where’s the naïveté when a parent needs it?

I blame TV.

(Sorry TV, I don’t really blame you. I just wanted to sound cool. You’re my best friend. Really.)

The Window Witch eventually turned out to be the curtain’s reflections. I felt like an idiot when I finally realized that. I think I was nine or ten. All those nights I’d laid there in fear of something that was never going to hurt me….

And perhaps I’m still doing that. By the window, where it’s cold.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mortgagemummi
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 22:24:38

    LOVE! I actually told my 5 year old the other day that if she didn’t drink more water the holes in her newly pierced ears (that she is VERY proud of) would get dehydrated and shrivel up! She bought it! Maybe those kids over in Japan are more sophisticated than the Canadian ones, lol!!

    Reply

  2. gaijinwife
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 08:19:16

    Ryu is afraid of the bath water that spills over when you get in the bath – or rather when mum crashes into the bath. He screams blue murder if he is left standing outside the bath while the water swirls round his feet. I hated, and still do but not quite to the same extent, gaps in the curtain at night. do do do do do do do do – twilight zone.

    Reply

  3. Beth
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 12:49:37

    Going down to the basement scared me as a little girl and still scares me today. I avoid it as much as possible, since the monster under the stairs will grab me if I am not fast enough.

    Would Me Too like the window better if it had some decals on it (not the sticker kind, but the cling kind that can be easily removed)?

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Jan 14, 2012 @ 16:18:24

      That’s a good idea! We have this stuff on the window to keep the cold out. It looks like bubble wrap, actually.

      I’ll let her put some stickers on that and see if it helps.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

