Peace and Quiet

Things have been pretty quiet around the Hamakko household the past couple of weeks, mostly because daddy has been gone. I know there are women out there who complain when their husbands are gone for long periods of time, who say that it’s hard….

I don’t get that.

When he isn’t here, things just go more smoothly. I do what has to be done, and if I can’t get around to the rest of it, it’s no big deal. No one is gonna complain if the floors don’t get vacuumed or the laundry doesn’t get put away every single day. No one gets the kids all riled up before bed or has them crying over breakfast. We don’t go the in-laws, if I can help it, so no one is calling me stupid or playing with the kids one minute and then yelling at them the next.

The kids and I do bad things like sleep too late and then have cereal or toast for breakfast. I put them to bed and then do what I want to do, which this week has involved watching the entire first season of Pan-Am. You know, important stuff like that.

But the peace and quiet ends this afternoon. I have very specifically asked HRH not to buy more then three wheels of cheese when he changes planes in Amsterdam (last time he brought back ten.) I didn’t say anything about not going to strip clubs, but surely he won’t do that again….If he does, I guess he can share his futon with the cheese.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaijinwifenwife
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 10:54:01

    Sorry – laughing at image of hub sharing futon with cheese. Doesn’t sound like punishment enough. Surely if he went he wouldn’t actually tell you would he? Or does he do stupid shit like take polaroid of naked girl round poll and hide it in back of drawer?

    Fuck, is that just my husband?

    xxx

    Reply

  2. chrysanthemummum
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 19:53:27

    I agree that things go much more smoothly when hub isn’t around. My two have been in the bath for way too long having a whale of a time (no pun intended!) while I have a cup of tea or two in peace and quiet. Of course, I pull the “my husband doesn’t help me” card all the time – woe is me, but it is really nice just the three of us.

    Talk of the devil… cries of “I wanna get out!” Duty calls…

    Reply

  3. illahee
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 09:00:46

    oh, i agree. my husband isn’t a complete ogre, he’s just so clueless. he’s also very forgetful, so those times when it’s just him and the kids, he appreciates what i do, but then forgets within a week. i try to leave him alone with the kids at least once a month (for more than a couple of hours, i mean!)

    Reply

  4. illahee
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 09:04:17

    oops, hit publish reply too soon. i meant to say that i love it when the husband is away. we eat what we want, when we want, watch more videos (together) and just let things happy (sounds like i’m a hippy! lol) my husband is a lot like his mother, worrying about lots and lots of useless things, so it’s kinda a relief when i don’t have to worry about whatever might be worrying him!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

