Confessions of a Very Bad Mom

There should be a law preventing germs from infecting parents who have children under five at home. Me Too is Driving. Me. Crazy.

She is thrilled, genuinely thrilled, to have Brother home all day to play with her. Trouble is, of course, that he isn’t here to play with her: he is home because he has the flu. No amount of explaining, scolding, or reasoning can convince Sister otherwise. She WILL play. They have been like two little puppies, nipping at each other’s heals and strewing things about until Brother is so exhausted that he starts crying for her to stop.

So much for keeping them apart so she doesn’t get sick, eh?

Sister is much less active at home on her own. This play-and-eat, play-and-eat cycle is causing much more work for me, right when all I really want to do is curl up under a warm blanket with a cup of hot tea and a mindless rom-com. When in fact what am I actually doing? Returning from the bathroom where I was checking on Me First who was taking to long. He had the toilet brush rolled up in wet paper with a bouncy ball on it and was washing the whole mess in the sink. All of which he promptly dropped to the floor when he saw me walk in.

(~_~;)

The ball had fallen in the toilet, he’d used the brush and paper combo to fish it out, and was now cleaning it up. Reasonable enough, I suppose, if you are seven and oblivious to the fact that wet toilet paper is clogging up the sink.

Where to even start?

Cleaned up that, returned to the living room to find Sister has turned on the gas heater AND opened all the windows, which she was cleaning with her school towel that got left out when I ran to the bathroom, but was in the process of being loaded into her backpack for school tomorrow. (Thank god she has school tomorrow!) It is, of course, now soaking wet. The school towels HAS to have a loop and it has to have her name on it…Maybe I can send her with Brother’s tomorrow and just cross out the first name. (Cringing inwardly.)

Very aggravating series of events, even in the best of times.

I do think I’m doing better now, though, with her than when Brother was the same age. I remember a dark, dark incident that happened when he was four. Daddy was off somewhere, in-laws were MIA, and Baby (as sister used to be) had a horrible stomach bug. It got to the point where she couldn’t even keep down her own saliva. The skin on her tummy was all wrinkly, her fingernails were turning blue. I needed to take her to the hospital. It was 5 am, but we’d already been up for awhile and Brother was watching a video.

Cause I’m a bad mom like that. I just needed him out of my hair.

But then it got worse. I got the children ready, called a taxi, and told Me First it was time to go. He turned to me and said,

“After this episode!”

At which point I totally lost it and smacked him right across his little four-year-old face.

He started to cry. I started to cry. The baby had been crying for hours. We were a hot, sticky, salty mess, but we made it to the taxi and to the hospital. Sister had to have an IV and stay for several hours, but we all survived.

Me First has forgotten about the incident, but I can’t.

Anyone want to share their own dark parenting moment?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. suucakes
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 14:23:56

    I’m nowhere near having a kid, but that sounds like a terrible, terrible experience. You deserve a vacation for this.

    Reply

  2. gaijinwife
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 09:06:29

    I’m not a very good mum full-stop unfortunately. I haven’t slapped across the face – although I did do it to hub back in the day once. I have been known to put a hand over a child’s mouth though – to stop the insistent whinging and whining when everything is happening at once. I have dragged kids out of rooms and if you ask Shou he reckons I ‘threw’ him out. Bum slaps, hand slaps, pinches – more likely to happen out in public than a bum slap. I think one of my worst moments though was with Marina. It was the witching hours and everyone was being uncooperative. Nobody else was here (to help) and in the end she got her assed dragged into the bathroom and showered with her clothes still on and her screaming blue murder. God it was horrible. I think she’d just turned 4 at the time.

    You do deserve a vacation. When you coming down?

    Reply

  3. Beth
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 12:17:26

    When my daughter is uncooperative, sometimes I feel my anger taking over. I try to count out loud, to do positive reinforcement. But those moments come, at the end of the day, when I am tired, when she will NOT listen, and I grab her arm and jerk her to where I want her to go. Not proud moments.

    Reply

  4. Coco
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 12:43:37

    last summer big sister would have strange bedtime hissy fits carrying on about how no one loved her. about the fifth night in a row of this i was cuddling and comforting her in bed. she didn’t like how i was trying to reassure her and she covered my mouth with her hand. i told her not to, and when she did it again i was so frustrated with the whole ridiculous situation that i bit her hand. hard. not the right thing to do.

    Reply

  5. illahee
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 08:53:39

    i am not in the running for mother of the year, myself. i am known to say to my dawdling kids, ‘i hope you find a nice new family!’ while walking away. *shakes head*

    the worst is probably when my youngest was throwing a fit in the car, and i had lost my eldest in nafco (see above) and i just. lost. it. and had a fit myself. screaming at a 3-year-old, and beating on the car. not my best moment.

    and, we did find hiro. he was wandering around the garden department looking for us. *sigh*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

