Form Uni

I have four bank forms in my hand. Two for preschool, two for elementary school.

Preschool form #1 needs to be taken to Bank A, where I use the form to make a payment to the school (which is actually on the way to Bank A) for Me Too’s uniform. Doing these things from an ATM machine I’m not used to with no English can be a challenge, but I can do this.

School form #1 has to be taken to the post office, not before March 1st, where I just make another payment by ATM. Then take the receipt to the school. Seems like it would be easier to just take the money, but alas, this is Japan and there are Rules.

Preschool form #2 is an automatic withdrawal form for tuition payment. This has to come from a post office account. Luckily we already have one. It has to have HRH’s bank hanko(name stamp) on it. School form #2 is for school lunch payment. It also needs his stamp. He carries this around with him, hidden in a special pocket. He also hides the actual bank withdrawal book which has the info I need for the form. Translation: he has to fill it out these forms or at least leave the sh!t somewhere I can find it and do it myself.

I told him about this last week, and he said he would do it over the weekend. But “I” forgot to remind him, so I asked him again on Monday. At which point the sky began to fall and pigs began whizzing about, pick your cliche and insert it here.

Dude

Is it really such a big deal to fill out and stamp two different forms?

The answer, apparently, is yes.

First he has to find an appropriate surface to write on. Not just the table, it’s too hard. (Gag.) He puts a couple of magazine pages on top of the table. ヨッシャ Appropriate surface complete. Next he has to find a good pen. (No, that’s not me rolling my eyes!) This takes a while since the kids have apparently ruined all of our pens. He eventually concedes to use one from his work bag. (He’d rather not use his work things. Never the twain shall meet kind of thing, I suppose.) He then proceeds to glance very briefly over the directions and included sample, then fill out the thing wrong.

おい!

This results in lots of loud exhaling and gruff sighs, teeth sucking and clucking noises. Like tsk tsk tsk on steroids.

But what-evs-

The kids can now go to school or eat lunch without being parasites to society who don’t pay for their things properly.

I notice the next day that instead of choosing one of the two banks in the neighborhood where he has accounts, HRH has written up school form #2 for a bank near his work. Now I have to go all the way down there to submit it, since banks are only open from 9-3 and he won’t “waste” a lunch hour.

His response? Go back to the school and get another form.

Yeah, that’ll go well:

HamakkoMommy: Hello there. My d!ckhead husband not only miswrote his name on this form but also filled it out for a bank far away so it’ll be a pain in the ass to take my four-year-old all the way there may I have another one please?
School official: Certainly, dear. We don’t mind you interrupting class and making us get another form when we’ve already given you one three weeks ago and if you had a problem you surely could have told us beforehand but now there are only a few days left till the deadline because men are d!cks now, aren’t they?

(~_~;)

We went yesterday to pick up Me Too’s uniform. She was all excited about it and wanted to try it on as soon as we got home. That’s when I noticed it was slightly different from the ones we had tried on at school. The suspenders at school were adjustable and clipped onto the skirt. These suspenders are not adjustable and button on. Thirty four-year olds with buttons? That’s asking for trouble. But worse than that the skirt was smaller than the one we tried on. Not too small, but this thing cost me close to sixty bucks. I want her to be able to wear it for both years!

I asked another mom in her class today about the suspenders and stuff, and she said her daughter’s did have clips and was adjustable and had plenty of room. She ordered a size smaller than me, but her daughter is bigger than mine.

Something is rotten in Denmark.

I hope they haven’t given me the wrong skirt. We had to order these ages ahead of time and I doubt the right one will be ready in time for her entrance ceremony in six weeks.

Rotten in Denmark indeed. Like stinky cheese rotten.

—Edit—-

Just got back from Me Too’s preschool. Apparently that wasn’t their uniform at all! Wrong number of pleats in addition to the wrong size and no suspenders. They had an extra skirt there, so it’s taken care of. Good thing, too. The “big girls” at preschool often clip a small towel with their suspenders clips to the front of their skirts. Me Too has been talking for months about what kind of towel she wants to clip there, and she was so disappointed that her skirt had buttons and not clips….I wouldn’t have noticed it was different until entrance ceremony that my little girl had the wrong number of pleats in her too-small skirt.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chrysanthemummum
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 18:28:18

    Take the skirt back to school. That’s what I’d do anyway.

    I have no advice about the husband. I feel your pain.

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Feb 16, 2012 @ 18:43:28

      I took it back to school this afternoon, and turns out it was another school’s skirt. Got the proper one, but the size I’d ordered wasn’t available so the skirt we ended up with is quite big. At least now we don’t have to worry about what Me Too will wear to her Coming of Age ceremony 16 years from now.

      Reply

  2. Jen
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 09:35:57

    Glad you got the right one! I’d be livid.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

