Easiest Paella EVER

Okay, so I think we have firmly established that I am no goddess of elbow grease in the cooking department. Or any department, for that matter.

But do you know what I hate more than anything else? Cooking for myself.

Usually I would have leftovers or crusts of bread when both kids are gone and I have no other plans, but today it’s raining. And there are no crusts of bread left.

So if I have to use the microwave or, god forbid, the range top anyway, it damn well better be something I can use again at dinner.

Thus I bring you: . The Easiest Paella Ever. This is a kid friendly version, not that stuff you see on TV with shrimp heads and shells in it, ‘kay? And please don’t confuse anything I make in My Lazy Kitchen, TM with any of the food they eat over in Spain, where the rain stays mainly on the plain (or so I’ve been told.)

I cooked chicken, onions, green peppers and eggplant in the frying pan with olive oil. Cause that’s what I had. You could say I sauteed it or stir-fried it or whatever, but why use labels? The chicken is no longer pink, and that’s all I was going for. I think I may have added salt and pepper at some point. Then I took out some for lunch and covered it with Pretty Cure instant curry. Cause when you want curry, really nothing else will do. And there are new Pretty Cures on the block so someone has to eat up the old series.

At some point later in the day, I will put the chicken/veggie mixture, tomato paste, and rice in the rice cooker. I will add water and some chicken bouillon. (The water is the only tricky part, and only if you’re domestically challenged like me. Make sure you add the water to the rice before the other stuff, or else you will have to measure the water with an actual measuring cup instead of the using markings inside the rice cooker. Oh, and melt the bouillon in some water first if you’re using a cube.) I will push the button and turn the rice cooker on. Fifty six minutes later, dinner will be ready.

Voila! Or perhaps, more appropriately, Ole!

20120223-170834.jpg

Just finished! Looks like barf but tastes like Y.U.M.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherbet and Sparkles
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 05:55:16

    That looks lovely! I’ll have to try it. You know, even without using the lines in the rice cooker, you know how much water to put in because when you rest your fingertip vertically on the top of the rice, the water should come to the first little line on your finger. I am a fellow domestically challenged girl, and that method hasn’t failed me yet!

    Reply

  2. Jen
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 15:40:09

    I love easy, this sounds great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

