Nuckin’ Futs

I have just received a notice from Me First’s school that I am to show up next week on a particular day at 9am, receive some curtains, take them home, remove the hooks, wash them, replace hooks, take them back to school, and rehang them, but not until I’ve cleaned the curtain rails.

I don’t think I’ve ever cleaned my own curtain rails

And I’m supposed to do the taking back, hanging up, cleaning rails business after school. With both my kids. Yeah, this is gonna go well.

At the bottom it says to please remember your hair kerchief. And to bring your own bag to carry the curtains.

That’s just nuckin’ futs, man. No way am I wearing a kerchief.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kym
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 15:33:05

    My son starts kindy next month. I can sense already that this kind of shit is going to drive me insane.
    And I’d strangle someone with a kerchief sooner than wear one.

    Reply

  2. gaijinwifegaijinwife
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 21:36:45

    That’s nuckin insane. I’ve never heard of people having to go to such extremes!! We don’t have to clean the inside – only the outside. Twice a year I think, but perhaps its only one. I was away for everything last year. Can’t remember. Hope your two go crazy and perhaps the kinder starts to realize that this in a bloody unreasonable ask. Fuck, its not like you don’t bloody pay shitloads to go there. Jesus. I really can’t believe you actually have to wash the curtains. Wow. Can you wash them with something the wrong color. Fuck them up on purpose. Guess then you’ll be named the useless gaijin who can’t even wash curtains but still – slight satisfaction perhaps :)

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Mar 02, 2012 @ 22:04:00

      This is the elementary school! Kindy cleaning is way more intense.

      Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Mar 02, 2012 @ 22:09:19

      A random acorn came out of our washing machine today, and there haven’t been any acorns around here in months. Chances of the curtains getting f’ed up are high even without me trying to do it on purpose.

      There was also a great line in there about how it isn’t necessary to iron them. Cause, you know, that’s what we women do. Iron curtains and unmentionables.

      Reply

  3. Xana
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 11:21:37

    Omg! We’ve never had to clean anything for kinder OR elementary, except the lunch serving smocks and such. Only kodomokai park cleaning and underpass cleaning. You poor thing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

