Too Cute

Waiting at the pediatrician’s office this morning. Nobody is sick, per se, but since the rain has let up I thought we’d get Me Too a refill on her asthma medicine.

As Me Too says, “Doctors know a lot about cough-es.” She’s going through this cute stage where she’s over applying a grammar rule. We’ve been getting lots of -es plurals when an -s is all that’s required. Also strange past tense generalizations like “goed” and “hitted.” Hopefully it will sort itself out. Her pronunciation is still quite baby like.

For example she just asked me if that baby needs a ketchup.

(?_?)

I asked her what a baby would do with ketchup, and she informed me very matter-of-factly that babies need ketchups to make sure they are growing right.

Ah, check-ups.

This is very similar to the kitchen/chicken mix-up that causes various forms of hilarity on a semi regular basis.

Me First, on the other hand, is going through a comparitively cuteless phase. Unless of course you like lots of sulking and smart ass remarks and general attitudiness. In that case, we’re probably already friends anyway. (^w^)

Me First has finally started writing sentences on his own!! We’ve been working so hard on his English every day, and I am really really really thrilled! Of course his sentences are things like “I hait ta queen” and “Fis lev en da reef.” Bit like reading Chaucer, actually, except that I can’t find the Cliff’s Notes.

Found this little gem written on the door write above “No Momy.” Had no idea what it was supposed to mean…

“Ton’t youz ta hou”

(?_?)(?_?)

Had to ask. Apparently in modern English, it’s “Don’t use the hole.”

And, yeah, there is one in the door. It keeps getting bigger because folks keep putting their little arms through it. Thus the self reminder, I guess.

And yes, my own mother would have never allowed such a thing to happen in her house. I am officially deficient in all things female.

Ah well, that’s the way it crumbles I reckon.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Xana
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 20:32:26

    I found dd1’s overly grammatical phase lasted years. But then she has always been a stickler for the rules. She STILL sometimes says “I hadded to nantoka.”. She’s seven, same as Me First, I believe. I remember the hardest thing to teach her was pronouns when she was a toddler. She thought “me/I” referred to mommy and “you” to herself. It was very confusing. The hazards of being the only person teaching your kid English. It’s great Me First is writing sentences!

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Mar 07, 2012 @ 21:50:46

      Me First had the same pronoun problem until Sister was born! He still says “Hold you,” when he wants to be held. Sometimes he’ll stop and think about it, and then say “Hold you me.” Having another person around all the time straightened out the pronoun issues quickly enough.

      We have worked so hard this year on his writing. I’m so happy to see it start to come together. It is really hard when, like you said, you’re the only English model in an ocean of Japanese. Keeping the kids motivated has really been a struggle. Hopefully, Me First will start to enjoy reading and writing and take it upon himself to do more.

      And then pigs will fly, I guess.

      Reply

  2. suucakes
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 00:17:26

    It’s near hearing about your kids’ developmental milestones! I’m taking a class on development this semester in school, so it’s neat to see where they’re at. I love that you shared what they wrote. It was like a game trying to figure out what they meant ;)

    Reply

  3. Xana
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 09:44:40

    Yes, dd2 (5yo) fixed dd1’s pronoun problem, too. Now I am worried about how to get dd1 to write. I mea, she CAN write, but she hates it. I think it’s partially due to the whole rule-follower thing, she doesn’t want to write anything less than perfect, doesn’t want to make mistakes, and unlike Japanese, it’s practically impossible for a seven year old to express herself in written English without a few mistakes. So, she simply refuses to do it at all. Sigh. I keep telling myself when dd3 (9 mo) is a little bigger I will have more time to help dd1 with writing, but when? Sometimes I am butter we missed out on yutori kyouiku, would have given us more time for English.

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Mar 08, 2012 @ 11:43:04

      The school homework is suffocating, isn’t it? Heard Yokohama might be going back to Saturday school. So stupid!! I really don’t want that. Everyone else works five days a week, why should kids be any different? I think Monbusho has bitten off more than the schools can chew. If they want to increase the curriculum so much, they need to cut back on the extra-curricular “cultural” stuff. How about, for example, the kids DON’T practice marching in a militaristic fashion for four weeks before Sports Day? Could we have Saturdays off then? Please??

      Reply

  4. Xana
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 09:46:10

    Bitter, not butter! I did manage to buy 1.5 kg of butter yesterday, my elation must be seeping through the bitterness!

    Reply

  5. Xana
    Mar 11, 2012 @ 05:45:13

    And surely we could do with a few less ceremonies, too. Twice a year would be plenty IMO. I worry about the Saturday school movement reaching Gifu as I teach all day Saturday, I would hate to lose those classes. Oh, the hypocrisy!

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Mar 12, 2012 @ 14:14:03

      Apparently some suit in Yokohama thinks six periods a day is too much of a hardship on the kids so the solution is….a six day week? Stooooopid.

      We could certainly do without the weekly assembly and how about having the kids come home at the same time every day? Brother is home an hour early every day this week, two hours early next week. That’s a month worth of Saturdays right there.

      They could also do without having the kids pick up garbage and rake leaves twice a year, and hire someone to clean the pool instead of having the kids do it. Or hire a janitor and use those twenty minutes for class every single day. OMG, I think that alone gives them the same number of hours as two periods on Saturdag morning.

      The other thing I thought was hypocritical was that one of the reasons given for increasing class time was that kids aren’t as physically strong as they were thirty years ago. And having them sit on their butts on Saturday morning is gonna solve that? Would like to see more PE class time, actually. Son only has one or two hours per week.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

