Mysterious Ways (and all that jazz)

You may remember me bitching about having to wash curtains for PTA. I was mega-pissed this morning when it turned out I had to do TWO rooms worth, for the simple reason that I showed up during the latish end of the required time frame.

Three loads of extra laundry did, in fact, take all freaking day.

Plus I had to take out all the hooks before washing and then replace them, which was a pain because my fingers are all swollen. Maybe arthritis or something. Anyway, detailed finger work is kind of difficult today.

When I went to hang up the curtains, the kids were in the way and underfoot and what should have taken ten minutes turned out to be twenty.

Suffice it to say I’ve been feeling pretty put-upon and burdened by this curtain business all day long.

BUT

On the way home, I happened to be standing at an intersection when a little girl happened to start walking right in front of a car that happened to be speeding through the school zone. I yelled out to her, and she stopped long enough to avoid getting killed.

Ever had a moment like that? When a whole bunch of Random Coincidences lead to something really important?

I could feel that same tingly, crowded feeling I had when I was with Dad a few hours before he died. Like the souls or ancestors or angels or what-have-you were gathered, waiting.

The little girl safely crossed the street, gave me a second glance that said more “Noisy gaijin yelled at me and scared me” than “Thanks for saving my life.” She’s probably in about second grade and has no idea what a close call that was.

Her Mom will probably call the cops. Will post my own mug shot next to MILs.

But I think I won’t bitch about the PTA so much. Not today, anyway.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Xana
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 14:26:38

    Oh, but I do enjoy reading you bitch about the PTA so much! Promise you won’t give it up? Even from your double jail cell with crazy stalker Baabaa.

    I’m glad something good came of the curtain washing, what a major pain in the Kokori-chan!

    Xana

    note: Dd2 named dd3’s bottom Yamauchi Kokori. Dd3 will need therapy when she grows up.

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Mar 14, 2012 @ 16:52:13

      Well then, if you insist I am happy to continue bitching.

      Surely they wouldn’t make me share a cell with Baba, though? Will have to rethink this life of crime thing….

      Reply

  2. gaijinwife
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 21:15:14

    Wow, that’s some serious universe alignment going on there. Maybe one day, when she’s a mother, she’ll recall that loud gaijin shouting at her that stopped her from getting run over. A good day all round I say. Clean curtains, PTA bollocks adhered to and life saving.
    And now wine perhaps?
    xxx

    Reply

  3. gaijinwife
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 09:47:22

    Looked like a big one :( Don’t know how you guys do it up there. I’d be a bloody wreck. Was very impressed that Me Too didn’t even wake up though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

