Fix Your Cold!

I kid you not, my husband just yelled at me and said, “Fix your cold!”

Cause, yeah, it’s that easy.

How do you even respond to something like that? Perhaps I could tell him a) colds are caused by viruses or b) I didn’t catch a cold just to inconvenience you, dumbass. But for some reason to Japanese people, it’s never just A. It has to be my fault somehow. I didn’t gargle when I came home or I didn’t wash my hands after touching money or something and therefore I caught a cold and deserve no sympathy.

And it hasn’t been much of an inconvenience to anyone besides me. Because it’s just a cold. I can still cook everyone’s food and wash everyone’s clothes and do everyone’s dishes, but HRH is all ticked off that I went out and bought a hat today instead of going to the doctor’s. Where there are really sick people….

I guess I’ll be going tomorrow and spending a pretty penny, not to mention an entire morning, getting medicine that won’t work as well as a good old Niquil would. Because I have to fix my cold.

We’ll see how that works out.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Xana
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 21:29:46

    So my dh isn’t the only one who gets angry at me for catching a cold. Ever so helpful, that attitude. I don’t ask for sympathy, but being yelled doesn’t make the virus go away. Feel better!
    Xana

    Reply

  2. Katee
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 22:48:28

    I’d say pretend to go out and instead do something productive. I know how it is to be sick and everyone wants to force an entire pharmacy down your throat. Recently went through it with my 4x a year sinus infection with my “host family” here in Puerto Rico. I told them just cough drops would be fine… Hope you feel better soon! Being sick sucks.

    Reply

  3. Kym (@kymmytha)
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:05:19

    Have u tried mailing him links to wikipedia pages that prove he and his crazy ideas about colds are baka? That’s how we like to resolve arguments round here ;)

    Reply

  4. gaijinwife
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:49:43

    is it all fixed yet?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

