Once Upon A Tooth

We were having snacks the other day, when Me First yells, “My tooth!” Sure enough, where his tooth had been a few seconds before there was now a black expanse of nothing.

But the tooth was nowhere to be found.

We looked under the table; we looked in his mouth; we looked in his pants cuffs where I found lots of sand but no tooth.

“Did you swallow it?” I asked.

A look of horror spread across his freckled seven year old face. He covered his mouth with his hands and wailed, “I don’t know!”

I looked again at what they had been snacking on, custard cream filled taiyaki. It’s basically a fish shaped pancake filled with stiff custard. That filling is like mortar. I poked around inside it a bit, and sure enough there was a tiny little baby tooth lodged inside.

Operation tooth retrieval, successful. Over.

But then that night, I had a major oversight.

The tooth fairy forgot to come.

Me First woke up at 5 am, checked under his pillow, and then let out one of the saddest little whimpers I think I’ve ever heard.

He came to me, with big eyes full of tears and confusion.

“My tooth is still here,” he whispered.

Oh, sh!t.

There goes my Mother of the Year award.

“Let’s have a good look,” I said as I rummaged through my wallet looking for appropriate legal tender.

Brother was preoccupied with fighting his disillusionment in the other room. Now’s the time, I thought, and quickly tucked a coin under his blankey. “Let’s have another look, hon,” I called.

He found the money and thus everything was right in the world again.

Later Brother and Sister were conjecturing about what, exactly, had happened. Sister figured Brother woke up so early that the tooth fairy was still there. She was in such a hurry that she forgot the tooth.

By the end of the day, they had thoroughly convinced themselves that is what had happened. Brother said in a generous moment that I could keep the tooth.

Nice to have permission, I suppose.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. illaheebaby
    May 03, 2012 @ 13:09:01

    um, yeah, i keep forgetting, too. in december hiro lost two teeth, two days in a row (that is to say, he lost a tooth, and then the next day he lost another tooth.) the tooth fairy forgot the first night, but the second night he got two coins! i told him she was busy because of christmas or something….

    Reply

  2. gaijinwife
    May 03, 2012 @ 18:11:01

    Too cute.

    Reply

  3. gaijinwife
    May 03, 2012 @ 18:11:24

    LOL – and love your excuse Illahee that the tooth fairy was busy with Christmas. Awesome.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

