Traumatized much?

Ever since the mean boy incident at Me Too’s preschool, she has been asking to go to after care every day.

It costs extra, but I guess it’s okay if she wants to stay after for a bit to play. They also give the kids a really healthy snack. Nah, I’m being sarcastic. Last week they gave her potato chips. I’m not a snack food nazi or anything, but our snacks at home tend to be slightly healthier (peanut butter crackers, etc,) and when they aren’t (chocolate cupcakes) I’ve usually made them at home, halved the sugar, used some whole wheat and snuck in at least one vegetable. (I swear if you blend the zucchini in the blender first they never even notice it’s defiled their chocolate cupcakes!)

But I suspect the sudden desire to stay after school has little to do with eating crap food and playing for a bit. I think she’s avoiding pick-up time. The class gets wild and out of control, with the kids going to after care lining up and leaving first, the bus kids second, and the pick-up kids last. While the teacher is sorting out the after care and bus kids, the others are waiting in the classroom more or less unsupervised. The teacher calls them out to change their shoes and wait on the stoop. She’s inevitably attending to one crisis or another during this time, and that’s when Me Too got a face full of sand.

My instinct tells me if the desire to go to the Unicorn class (what they call after care at her school) is coming from fear of having sand thrown in her face again, then I need to nip it in the bud. The way she insists on it seems suspicious. Today is HRH’s birthday, and instead of helping me make the cake (something she would usually be thrilled to do,) she was absolutely unwavering in her resolve that she MUST go to the Unicorn Class. (That’s what they call after care at her school.)

I told her she could go today, but Tuesday and Wednesday she needs to come home. Typical four-year-old that she is, today was good enough. For now.

We’ll see what happens tomorrow.

In the meantime, I have had a very peaceful cake making session. Usually the kids want to “help” and I end up with egg on my face and flour all over the house.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaijinwife
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 20:55:00

    How did today go? Did she still want to go to the Unicorn class. Can totally understand her reasoning though and good plan to resolve before gets out of hand. Cake was awesome. Didn’t notice the uncrossed t :)

    Reply

  2. kebibarra
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 05:52:08

    Hi there!! I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award! I hope you don’t mind. I very much enjoy reading your blog!!http://perfectlyimperfectmomma.com/2012/06/06/i-got-an-award-what-what/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

