Hilariou-sshh

I may have forgot to mention that I have laryngitis. Yesterday I woke up with a frog in my throat, much to the delight of my offspring.

No yelling! No shouting! So easy to ignore. Yay for them, sux for me.

(Boy were they disappointed to realize there wasn’t ACTUALLY a frog down there, though Me Too still isn’t entirely convinced.)

Funny thing about human beings, though. If the person you’re talking to is whispering, then our instinct is to do the same.

I expected this from the kids.

But when I went to Starbucks for a break from Father’s Day shopping, I was in for a treat.

“Chai latte, please,” I whisper.

“What size?” whispers the clerk.

“Small, please.” (In Japan they DO have a small.)

“Small chai latte,” whispers the clerk to the barrista, two of whom whisper back in confirmation.

(In case you’re in some small corner of the world with no Starbucks, they usually yell at each other.)

At first it was bizarre. I felt like a kid in a library. But when the barristas whispered back I thought I’d bust a gut laughing.

Quietly, of course.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaijinwife
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 15:28:44

    LOL – a nice quiet day then.

    Reply

  2. Alyce {Blossom Heart}
    Jun 26, 2012 @ 11:04:10

    LOL!!! That sounds just like something that would happen in Japan!!! God bless their lacy cotton sockettes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

