Literally

One of the things we love to do when we visit my Mom is go the local library. The fools gave me a library card. Okay, actually they just reissued a card I had from way back when, but still. They needed a photo ID. All that I really have is my passport and my gaijin card, but as you can probably imagine your average plebeian is not familiar with either.

Luckily, I have a Costco card. It has my name on it in English, and a photo. Voila! I’ve even used it to open a bank account.

But I digress.

The local library has puppets and a puppet theatre the kids can play with. It has a big toy train rail set up. Not to mention the books! The story times! The summer reading program!

Today, I signed up Me First for this program where kids get to read books to dogs. These aren’t just any dogs, though. They’re therapy dogs. No, I don’t really know what that means, either. But needless to say, we are excited. The librarian said it’s a good way to help timid readers build their confidence,

Excellent.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nay
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 11:13:44

    Sorry but thinking about reading to a dog makes me laugh (lol) but sounds like a great activity!! Hopefully it helps with Me First’s reading skills and somehow the dog as well :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

