Squeeky Nails (or something like that)

It seems beyond ridiculous that one would be required to choose between sending one child to school or the other to a follow up ear exam after failing a hearing test, but that is where I found myself. We got a postcard instructing Child B to come to the municipal office for the ear check on Xday at x o’clock. The trouble, of course, is that Child A has school (which coincidentally is also run by the city) ending early on Xday at x o’clock. Did I mention the municipal office is a thirty minute bus ride away? Did I also mention that the bus, school, and check-up are all run by the city?

So, here I am thinking something along the lines of, “Why hello there, Left Hand. Fancy meeting you here! Have you met my good friend, your own bleeping Right Hand?”

I asked HRH to call and see if something couldn’t be done about this stupid situation, only to be met with a bunch of 迷惑かけないs (don’t bother them!) and, my personal favorite, “Just ask my mother.” I happen to know from previous experience that Thursday is scrapbooking day and MIL may agree to help when HRH asks, but when it comes down to the wire, she’ll shove the job onto her husband, who can’t make his own lunch, much less make sure Junior eats and doesn’t reek general havoc amongst the population.

I was debating between asking my neighbor or just taking the boy with me, school be damned, when I decided to throw caution to the wind and risk inconveniencing a stranger who gets paid through my taxes. (Which I pay without representation, btw. Ben Franklin would be mortified I’m sure. Really need to get around to throwing some green tea off a boat or something. Maybe next week…)

Anyway, after a few minutes on the phone being flushed out by Public Servant who must make sure I have a valid conflict to trouble them with rescheduling, I get a new appointment time in the afternoon.

These check-ups are hardly appointment based to begin with. They ask you to come in between 10 and 11 or something like that. Give or take one or two shouldn’t be such a big problem. But, we’re all adults here, some people just enjoy giving you shit even when you aren’t being unreasonable. Like that time at Subway in Japan when they had a managers meeting after I asked for a ham and cheese wrap… Didn’t get it, even though all the ingredients are right there. Not on the menu. Wouldn’t have gone to the trouble for myself, but what can I say? Sister likes her tortillas.

So anyway, I was feeling pretty good about solving the problem without having to leave my son with someone who doesn’t want him. Score one for the squeeky wheel or sticky up nail or whatever, insert your favorite metaphor HERE.

Then an hour later, I get a letter from school about attending a class meeting with NO YOUNGER CHILDREN please. Of course it’s on a day Me Too comes home early and after care is unavailable. Oh and MIL has ground golf, which is kind of like putt-putt for old people.

(>_<)

Hello, Fire? Have you met my good friend Frying Pan?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Xana
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 15:46:24

    Grr. Grrr. And Grrrrrrrr! I can’t believe the school would have a meeting with no younger children allowed. I mean, I can believe it, but how stupid! In a land without babysitters someday they are going to have to face the fact that we all don’t have a loving Baachan or Jiichan waiting next door with open arms.

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Aug 27, 2012 @ 16:56:16

      In all fairness, it wasn’t absolutely no younger children, more like if possible please don’t bring them and if you do don’t give them food or drink or allow them to interrupt the meeting (which is pretty hard with no food or drink….) Me Too will be coming since I have no other option. As soon as she starts to whine, we’ll leave. So we might be there for a whole thirty seconds or so.

      Reply

  2. chrysanthemummum
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 19:02:17

    Exactly what Xana said.

    Reply

  3. Xana
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 23:15:03

    “If possible, please don’t bring them.” As if we actually enjoy dragging the younger ones to meetings at the older one’s school despite having other options.

    Reply

  4. Lost in Tokyo
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 19:57:42

    Thank you for putting the frustration that I have felt over and over again into words! Ran across your blog today by chance today and it has been therapeutic to know that I am not the only one in this country thinking this stuff! ha ha ha. I may have to start my own blog to work through the remaining issues of living in Japan and raising two kids!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

