Top of the Morning

I have a friend who was saying how much she misses her husband when he was away. No really, apparently some people think that. And they still let me be friends with them. (At my house, Me First actually yelled, “Freedom!!!” Braveheart style when Daddy left the other day. Hmmm.)

Anyway, Friend put on her Facebook page that she was used to waking up to her husband’s kisses, not a lonely bed.

Apparently her hubby doesn’t suffer from morning halitosis like mine does, but anyway, it got me thinking about how I start my mornings.

First, of course, is a bathroom trip. Then the next thing I always do every single day is clean out the drain in the kitchen sink.

Romantic, eh?

Those of you who live in Japan probably do the same thing. If not, you ought to! Japanese kitchen sinks have these curious garbage traps that look like a sieve. I keep a stocking-type garbage bag in mine to lessen the gunkiness. Every morning, I throw out the bag, which is a job you want to do when the bag is dry so at least it isn’t slimy. That’s why I do it first thing. Nine times out of ten, the garbage trap is gunky anyway, and I have to scrub it clean.

Then, and only then, I boil water for coffee.

That alone tells you what a horrible job it will turn into later, doesn’t it, if I do it before I start the coffee?

What do you do first thing in the morning? (Those of you who kiss non-stinky husbands need not answer, thanks.)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaijinwife
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:32:34

    try and convince the kids that 5:30 is too bloody early. Come downstairs when I hear them either making a complete riot or not making any noise at all which usually means they are outisde hunting for crabs in their pajamas. I get them a very un-nutrisious western breakfast of vegemite toast, fruit and yoghurt. I get their clothes out in piles and spend ten minutes coercing them to finish their breakfast… …. I have coffee after I’ve kicked them all out of the house – including the husband who hardly even kisses me during sex let alone when he skips out the door to work in the morning!!

    Reply

  2. Nay
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 16:34:48

    Yell at my husband about something stupid usually XD

    Then I make myself some coffee and breakfast. If I am lucky Leilah has already had breakfast but even so she usually eats at least half of mine as well!

    Reply

  3. illahee
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 17:10:07

    oh god, i think i block mornings because i’m just not sure. get out of bed (probably because someone has been kicking me all night), toilet, go downstairs and go to the computer. i wait until my husband leaves the house before attempting to go into the kitchen, but that’s in summer. crap, school starts next week and i guess i better get up earlier to get hiro’s breakfast done before he has to leave the house. ugh.

    Reply

  4. Kym
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 21:01:43

    Usually I try to get whichever kid it is who has woken up far too early back to sleep. After failing that I shoosh the kid who is awake so at least the other one can have a sleep in, then stagger around trying to remember what it is I’m supposed to be doing that day. Tired, so tired.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

