Enough already

I got a magazine/catalog thing from H&M the other day. On the back cover, there’s a picture of David Beckham in his underwear. This doesn’t make me want to buy the same undies for HRH, though, sorry H&M. It did make me think that I’d like to trade places with Victoria Beckham for one day.

Really, just one.

Then I had a good belly laugh imagining her doing what I’m doing today. She’d be aghast at my wardrobe and surely wear my one pair of high heeled pumps (aka my funeral shoes) to drop Me Too off at preschool. I can see her battling my washing machine, struggling with putting things out to dry, putting caviar in the little one’s lunchbox.

Hardy har har, I needed a good laugh. I’m in a funk today. That means one thing, of course: Poetry. Evil bitch, always hanging about and refusing to go home when I feel like poop. But here it is, sappy and crappy, love it or leave it.

You were enough.
Just you,with no money
No status, no title
No letters to write after your name.

For a sweet moment
In the midst of chaos
You were enough
You were everything

If it’s true what they say,
That we choose our lives
Before we’re born
Knowing full well what the future will hold

Then I suspect that I was
Foolish enough, reckless enough
To choose a whole life full of nothing
For a gentle interlude
Of enough

The thing I hate about my poetry, and a lot of my writing, is that it’s so poignant, in a negative way, if that makes sense. It’s not like Bam! Pop! Smack! I guess that’s just not what’s in me.

No, no I’m all David Beckam fading to Posh trying to figure out my dishwasher and wondering why the bathroom is so small.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ros Barber
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 15:44:19

    Writing poetry is great for crystallising how we feel – when it works (like this), it really resonates with a deep truth. However disturbing that truth is, it’s important to acknowledge it, I think. I relate to your struggle. I had a pretty horrible time of it when my kids were little. It’s not the kids (mostly) but the daily grind – and having an unappreciative husband. I had enough eventually. I have a better husband now. He does most of the childcare, the food shopping, and the laundry. I imagine that doesn’t happy much (at all?) in Japan.

    Reply

  2. Anna
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 16:50:12

    Hi, I am one of those sad people that have NO talent what so ever with writing and I’m a hopeless lurker but I just wanted to tell you that you make me laugh, because so much of it make sense to me and you make me sad because I want to strangle your husband.

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Sep 29, 2012 @ 10:09:42

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

      I’m starting to think maybe some people are seeing my husband in this poem, but it’s not about him. I should write one, though, that would be funny! And cathartic, probably.

      He’s actually taken the kids to the park this morning. It was that or be in charge of making lunch, since I have to run out with Me Too from 11-12. (He claims he can’t make miso….Um, okay….) So please don’t strangle him until he’s finished doing my bidding. Thanks!

      Reply

  3. americanlostintokyo
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 20:39:07

    Yes, what would Posh Spice do with our washing machines, with our dirty dishes, with our kitchens without respectable sized ovens? What would she do when one of her brood brings home uwabaki to be washed???
    But, I must say…after the Olympics, I have lost any trace of respect for Posh Spice. She could have at least looked half festive for the event and put a smile on her face for 10 seconds or so?
    As for her husband…well…

    Reply

  4. americanlostintokyo
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 21:36:59

    Unfortunately, I didn’t see DB in his fashionable undies at the closing ceremonies. Only Victoria and her unpleasant scowl : (
    We only got to see him in playing “James Bond” at the opening ceremonies.
    Anyway, you didn’t miss anything at the closing ceremonies. The NHK commentators were so annoying it was hard to enjoy it. They were commenting and “explaining” so much of the program that you could barely enjoy any of the entertainment. While explaining who George Michael is and the Spice Girls are the camera constantly veers off to the Japanese team who looks very bored with the whole thing— Very disappointing NHK broadcast.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

