Welcome to the Dark Side

I am only slightly ashamed to admit it: HamakkoMommy ain’t got no fashion sense.

‘Tis true that I do try, sometimes. And then I don’t. Part of me hates the process. This is also the same part that hates washing my hair. I mean, it doesn’t make me a better person. Twenty years from now the pictures will look bad regardless.

I know some people really like to express themselves that way. I can get that. Especially those folks that design, sew, modify. There’s a lot of satisfaction to be had creating things with your hands.

Then there are those who adorn themselves in such a way to demonstrate their financial status. There’s a time and place for that, too, I reckon. It is not exactly pleasant to pull up into a friend’s yard in your beat up old pickup truck, only to realize for the first time that your BFF is loaded.

But I appear to be wading into the deep end here when what I really want to talk about is Birkenstocks.

Sure, they look like hippy shit (this blog will never land a sponser(^_^)v), but after you break them in, and if you have cave man feet like me, they’re as comfy as a kotatsu on a cold winter’s day.

But sandals are for summer. Even if I were spiritually willing to plunge of the fashion cliff to Miami-based octogenarianesque sandals ‘n socks, my piggies would not be. Just too cold!

But then I noticed the Birkenstock Outlet had clogs and mary janes. The MJs were ugly as hell, but after retying my shoelaces for the tenth time that morning, somehow that didn’t seem terribly important.

Then I started thinking that clogs might be nice. You’re in and out of your shoes a lot here, and clogs would certainly ease the process. But I’ve always avoided backless shoes because they’re hard to run in. And really, you never know when you will be called upon to run away from, and occasionally toward, some something.

And then there was the bigger question: do I really want to step over to the dark side of year round Birkenstocks? Judge for yourself.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 13:07:22

    Noooooo!! Don’t do it. It’s not 1995. Keep looking, keep searching. There are good options out there.

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Nov 15, 2012 @ 13:18:29

      But my cold feet hurt….You’re bettr at this than me, choose me some shoes! Size 6 (if you can find it.) Here are my requirements for wintertime shoes: 1) no portion of the sock should be visible when jeans and shoes are worn together. This is absolutely necessary because oftentimes my socks do not match. No, really. 2) MUST have good arch support. 3) Must not make my toes claustrophobic. 4) Must be comfy enough to walk at least five miles in. 5) Toe area must be strong enough to brake a bicycle without getting a hole in it and thus exposing mismatched socks. And stopping the bike bit is important, too, of course. 6) Must be able to go 0-60 in five seconds flast. But you’ve got a kid, so I’m sure you already knew that. 7) Must be warm, and preferably water (and pee) resistant. I’m sure al
      The mothers of boys out there know what I mean.

      And certainly no one will mistake it for 1995. I’m not wearing flannel, and I washed my hair this morning. And something about lost youth and innocence and all that.

      Reply

  2. hamakkomommy
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 13:22:21

    Inquiring minds want to know: what on earth is that thing between your feet?

    This, inquiring minds, is Me First’s Precious Cactus. He over-loved it to the brink of destruction, then forgot about it, so is finally starting to grow. See how effectively I distracted you from noticing how dirty the floor is! This is the landing outside, and thus falls out of my jurisdiction to that vague area a friend refers to as “blue jobs,” as opposed to the “pink jobs” I do that actually get done.

    Reply

  3. Beth Marsh
    Nov 16, 2012 @ 02:16:27

    Your socks appear to match!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

