Out

I don’t get out much. I think you already knew that. There are the almost daily trips to the grocery store, taking the the kids to school and activities, Costco once a week, but most weeks I only leave the neighborhood for English school on Saturday.

How did my world get so small??

If things go really smoothly in the morning and the weather is nice, sometimes I ride my bike the twenty minutes down to the outlet mall and window shop for an hour or so. But even then I get back by lunch.

Today I’m actually leaving the neighborhood, on the train, to have lunch with a friend. It’s been at least two weeks since I’ve gone anywhere, and this morning I remembered why: it’s nothing less than a Herculean task to get my crap together enough to afford going out for more than an hour or so.

When it was something for the kids, like a playdate or play group, then I did it more often. Of course they didn’t have swimming lessons back then that kept us out of the house during the critical pre-dinner hours, nor was there homework to be done, or a new school day to prepare for. Evenings now are just as harried and hard as mornings.

Knowing I’ve got THAT mess waiting for me, and with no one else to benefit, I find myself not going out much at all.

This morning, in order for things to go smoothly, I needed to get up at 5:30. Which I managed to do, with, I’m sure, some assistance from the Heavenly Hosts above. I snuck out of bed from beside a cherubic, sleeping child. I slid the fusuma door open, ever so gently, and tiptoed from the warm tatami room onto the sharp cold of the wood floor in the next room. The shock of the chill made me draw in my breath. I slid one still-sleepy foot into the waiting warmth of the worn-in slippers I’d taken off just before bed the night before. I shifted my weight to the other foot, and then

“Mooommmyyy!!!”

(Sigh.)

Foiled. Again.

Perhaps I should see if anyone in the military establishment would like to examine my daughter for tips on preventing the enemy from escaping.

I ended up back under the down kakebuton for several more minutes that should have been spent otherwise occupied, but it was useless. Me Too was wide awake, a full hour earlier than she should have been.

But somehow everything got done, more or less, and I spent a very nice noontide with the gals, as my grandma used to say.

Perhaps I should make the effort more often.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. becca
    Feb 01, 2013 @ 06:37:22

    my older daughter is exactly the same. no matter how silent i am she wakes as soon as i’ve exited the futon..it used to mean that i gave up trying to get up to have some ‘me’ time before she awoke..now she is the earliest riser in the house (from between 5:30-6:30) and she gets up, quietly exits room and then reads/looks at books until the rest of us get up at the more reasonable hour of 7..being able to roll over and go back to sleep always feels like such a treat!

    Reply

  2. ds
    Feb 01, 2013 @ 09:54:36

    Perhaps the co-sleeping is the problem. If your kids were in separate rooms, it would be easier to get up in the morning without being detected. Not to mention, it would be easier to have some good “couple time” with your hubby.

    We NEVER did the ‘family bed’ thing- when our son was an infant, he had his own crib that was in our bedroom, but that got moved out by the time he was, as far as I can remember, 6 months old.

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Feb 01, 2013 @ 15:47:45

      Thanks for commenting!

      We like co-sleeping, for the most part. My husband was raised that way, as are most children in Japan (and Asia, and most of the world actually) and thinks anything else is strange. We get plenty of “couple time” as we have the whole rest of the house at our disposal!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

