Shower the Babies (happy birthday to me)

Today, I kept Me Too home from school so she could go to a baby shower. Well, if you MUST be technical about it, I guess you could say I took her so I could go. After care isn’t on today, and otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to swing it. But really, how many chances do you get to go to a baby shower in Japan, right? I want to show her that being female isn’t all about not burping out loud and being constantly told to sit with your knees closed. She needs to see how we have fun without the men around.

Plus today is my birthday, and I was not crazy about the idea of spending it alone.

I’ve been in a funk, feeling kind of down and downtrodden, stuck in the abyss of SAHMhood. I’ve been down here a long time. Surely there is more to me than this…

The birthday doesn’t help. Nor does being faced with the task of preparing my own birthday cake. Just kind of defeats the purpose, you know?

So we went to the baby shower (after I promised Me Too she did not actually have to clean the baby,) and even though she sat in a corner most of the time, she was watching and enjoying herself.

And she talked my ear off on the train.

The other ladies were nice enough to make a cupcake for me and another woman who shares the same birthday. That was great, totally solved the make-it-yourself dilemma.

So, happy birthday to me.

I tend to use birthdays thinking about all the things I want to change about myself in the next year. Maybe I’ll get around to that tomorrow.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kym
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 17:42:08

    Happy Birthday!!! I could get all cheesy and Billy Joel-like and say “Don’t go changin’….”, but I think he wrote that about a woman he divorced in the end, so-o-o…
    Anyway, glad you got some cake!

    Reply

  2. gaijinwife
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 18:43:51

    Happy Birthday!!

    Reply

  3. Xana
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 21:13:19

    Wow! Birthday cake you didn’t make yourself! What a well deserved treat. Happy birthday!

    Reply

  4. Beth
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 22:34:52

    Again, happy birthday to my beautiful first born!

    Reply

  5. Fichan
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 12:45:51

    Happy Birthday. Know exactly how you feel about preparing your own birthday cake. The DH is useless so I’m hoping to start training the kids soon. Don’t think I’ll get a homemade birthday cake out of it but the plan is to put the fear of God into the children and get them to make DH go shopping for me. Let you know how it goes.

    Reply

  6. Floria in Tokyo
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 23:21:32

    Happy Birthday! I’m a first-time commenter, but we share the same birthday!(Although I’m hitomawari? futomawari? toshi ue…. Sigh.) My DF is hopeless with birthdays, too—his family never made a fuss about then, so that’s only natural, I guess. draw the line at making my own cake, though!

    Reply

  7. hamakkomommy
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 08:38:39

    Thanks for the birthday wishes, everyone!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

