Good Lord

This post is neither about the lord, nor anything good. Just thought I’d put that out there since I find my biblical references, inevitable seeing as how I spent almost as many hours in a Southern Baptist church as in school growing up, sometimes lead unsuspecting Born Againers to this fount of profanity.

Howdy, yall. (^∀^)ノ

Consider thyselves warned.

Anyway. I don’t think I can ignore what is itching in my eyes and running from my nose anymore. It appears that both Me Too and I have the dreaded Kafunsho, that brand of hayfever particular to Japan and caused by a particular species of cedar that grows particularly in every damn corner of this particular island.

I’ve been denying my symptoms for a couple of years. This is no real surprise. I mean, you have to be an expert at denial to agree to marry a Japanese man, live in his country, and buy a house a stones throw from his parents. Preferably a big stone.

I can’t deny Me Too’s misery, though. She was born with an eye that doesn’t drain well. Around six months of age, we took her to the hospital where they inserted a syringe into the sinus at the corner of her eye and ran saline through it to unblock it. Poor darling came back with a black eye. It drains now, but the cavity is narrow, so when her nose is stuffed up or whatever then the tears that clean your eye when you blink end up running down her face. So she wipes at it. Then it gets infected, and I spend mornings ungluing her eyelashes.

It feels like she’s on asthma medication for half the year anyway, and I would really rather not add to that. Last year was just kind of あれ?, suspecting allergies but not bad enough to want to get her on meds. But this year, I’m gonna have to do something.

What’s good for the gosling is good for the goose, I suppose, and we’ll have to make a trip to the ENT together.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Xana
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 13:21:29

    Lots of kids around here have started wearing “kafun megane” with masks. Not the most attractive look, but perhaps a viable option if you want to try to avoid medication?

    I think I could throw a small stone further than a big stone, but I’m happy my in-laws are 20min drive away.

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Mar 07, 2013 @ 16:29:55

      She wore a mask today and that seemed to help. Will take her to the docs tomorrow just to make sure it is allergies and not sickness. Will ask about the glasses, too.

      Reply

  2. gaijinwife
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 13:00:17

    haha Xana – yes, perhaps able to throw small stone further :) What does living under the same roof make it then?
    I have been ‘ignoring’ kafun symptoms for a couple of years two. The, nose, the throat, tears streaming down my face. Gaaah. Fortunately the kids seem OK but it does seem to be one of those ‘can pop up at any time’ kinda allergies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

