Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow

What do you do on a rainy day? How about practicing on your hair.

Intricate braids are all the rage among the preschool set these days, but my French braiding skills are rusty. This is just the sort of thing Google was invented for, right?

Part of the trouble is that my daughter’s hair is so different from mine. Mine is springy curly and the bane of my existence, but it will hold a braid. When I do my own hair, I can let go of the strand to gather more hair for the next level. But when I try to do Me Too’s hair the same way, the entire braid falls out.

I do my own hair by feel, if that makes sense. I can’t see it, after all. So I find when trying to do someone else’s hair that the added sensory stimulation makes me confused. Plus you have to move your hands the opposite way of when your braiding your own noggin.

Got a headache yet?

Anyway, I’ve been working on it. Me Too had double french braids yesterday, and I have a Dutch braid headband today.

Way too much effort and I’m sure I’ll tire of it soon. Better master this before school starts back!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Susie
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 04:45:42

    I really miss my mom putting my hair in braids when I was in grade school. I don’t miss the headaches from the hair pulling or the braids too tight though.

    My hair has a wave to it so it holds a braid but it is just straight enough for the hair to stick out like a barbed braid. :/ I wish I could braid my own hair but it’s too tough for me. I can do a simple pony and add a braid but I can’t do a French braid or braid close to my scalp :(

    Reply

Leave a Reply

