Toe the Line

Leave it to a man to ruin something for a boy.

(>_<)

The kids have been wanting to go to Build-a-Bear for ages. Well in truth, we’ve been numerous times but have never actually purchased anything. I promised the children, and I thought my husband agreed with me when I talked to him about it, that both kids would make a stuffed animal for Children’s Day. It’s been a long time since Christmas, after all. We decided to come today, a few days early, before all the country folk make their way here.

Me First isn’t interested in the clothes and accessories, but he was excited about getting a snake.

I certainly don’t think eight is too old for a boy to be playing with stuffed animals, especially if they have a younger sibling who is really into them. Seems only natural to me that he would want one and want to play together with his sister.

But I guess it was one of those conversations where the other party is not really listening.

As soon as we got to the store, the children excitedly went to choose their animals when HRH busted out with, “You don’t want that girly toy, do you?” and shamed Me First into not getting one. Then they left the store entirely. I can only assume they’ve gone to buy deer pee or something manly like that.

Wtf.

I would never have agreed to do something like that for only one child. And I’d like for Me First to enjoy his childhood being a kid, you know?

Not to mention HRH was supposed to be holding our place in line when he sauntered off.

Why the hell is this store full of grown ups without kids, anyway?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruby Doom
    May 04, 2013 @ 00:21:14

    Is it just me that would have told my HRH loudly and in front of the shop to stop the ridiculous willy waving?

    Reply

  2. illahee
    May 05, 2013 @ 21:11:26

    i confess, this post made me tear up a little. what is wrong with HRH??

    Reply

  3. Susie
    May 07, 2013 @ 01:43:27

    :( that is terrible! I think Me First should still get one, you are never too old for stuffed animals no matter what sex you are.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

