The Early Bird Gets in Trouble

They call Japan the “Land of the Rising Sun” for a reason. The sun comes up way too early here, especially in the summer.

If I was a master computer hacker type, I would manipulate some GPS satellite thingy-dingies and put this whole country in a completely different time zone. At least two hours different.

In spite of having sun-blocking curtains and mommy’s scary face shining down on them, every year around this time, the children start getting up earlier and earlier.

When they were smaller, I could just put them to bed earlier. Getting up early was a pain, and HRH would inevitably end up complaining about me going to bed before him, but it worked out even though it was inconvenient.

Now?

Different story.

School start and finish times don’t change; preschool start and finish times don’t change. Nothing else can be changed just because Me First got up at the first light of dawn (currently 5:10)and woke everyone else up with him.

If he would just play quietly and go about his business, preferably without waking me up but most definitely without waking his sister, that would be absolutely smurfing as far as I’m concerned. I have been contemplating putting him to bed a bit later, but the logistics are hard, so if he just got up a bit earlier and played quietly, he’d be doing me a favor.

But that is obviously not what he’s doing, or I wouldn’t be writing about it.

HRH usually uses the extra time to go jogging. Must be nice. I’m stuck with a tired, cranky preschooler and a third grader begging for breakfast and wanting to watch TV.

The TV thang ain’t happening. Yes, it would be easier for me, but it’s taken so long to get the “no TV before you’re ready for school” rule down pat that I don’t want to mess with it.

If you happen to see me today, and I don’t acknowledge you, please don’t get mad. I’m sleepwalking.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaijinwife
    May 13, 2013 @ 10:45:43

    Marina was up at that time too today – she went down to Granny K’s room and convinced her to make her an onigiri. After eating she declared in a booming voice (to Granny who was now on the loo) I’VE EATEN THE ONIGIRI BAACHAN!! I hate the early morning risings but must admit I say ‘go down to Granny K’s room’ most days until 6am when hub and I usually get up. Do remember those 4:30 wakings though – and coming downstairs at 5am to find SHou and Marian outside looking for crabs in PJS and gumboots ….

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      May 14, 2013 @ 07:00:26

      Good use of the grandma there! Since HRH’s parents retired, they’ve taken to sleeping in, stereotype busters.

      I managed to put the kids to bed extra early last night. Me Too went to sleep right away, and slept until 6 today. So much nicer when she is well rested!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

