On My Laurels

This has been one of those days where I’ve been busy from sunup till long after sundown, cleaning this and cooking, wiping that nose and stopping that fight, just one thing after another all day long.

And now, I can sit back, take a deep breath, relax and say to myself,

“What the hell were you thinking?”

Because in spite of all of that effort, and really for once I did make the effort, this place looks worse than it did when I woke up in the morning.

Case in point: There were some toys on the floor in Me Too’s room. I figured I’d put them away for once instead of asking her to do it, which results in asking her again, which then results in her telling me she doesn’t know how or some other lame excuse, which eventually results in the raising of an iron curtain, bunker tunnels, and barbed wire. It took like three minutes.

But somehow in that three minutes, Me Too took all the stuffed animals in the house, along with some I’m pretty sure do not belong to us, and shot them catapult-style all over the living room. Then somehow she got rice all over them, even though we haven’t eaten rice in like two days.

Meanwhile, Me First is lying on the floor, completely oblivious to all of this. But once he gets his nose into a book, even if he’s already read it before, and even if the outcome is pretty obvious like what he was reading today, a graphic novel (that’s fancy talk for a comic book, y’all,) entitled The Wright Brothers, then the rest of creation ceases to exist.

I’m a bit worried about this Wright Brothers thang, though. I mean, he cried when Wilbur died. He would be like 190 if he was still alive. The whole story took place in the “noughties,” so what exactly did Me First think was gonna happen? And he’s read this book before! Did I mention that?

Perhaps I should have just indulged myself in an episode of “Long Island Medium” or something, that would have been less aggravating. Probably.

Oh well, there’s a whole pile of things to go out in the garbage tomorrow morning, providing I get it there before 8am of course. Proof that I actually did do something useful today. Besides sit around on my laurels.

Me Too has had a runny nose and cough for a few days now, and the cold/allergy medicine she is taking have made her moody. Not as bad as me PMSing moody, but like half that bad. Of course I don’t go nuts over whether my ponytail is “hard” enough…. What does that even mean? Apparently it means “pulled close to the head but I won’t explain that without crying hysterically and saying you never listen to a word I say.”

Wow, okay, so it is almost exactly like me PMSing, weird. I guess that can also stand for “Ponytail misunderstanding syndrome.”

Me First has been under the weather, too, so I let him stay home from school today. Sister came home before lunch, so that just goes back to the very beginning of “What was I thinking?” trying to get anything done with the both of them at home.

But in between rending garments and gnashing teeth, we got some good cuddle time in and read a few chapters of “Granny Grabbers.” (This is a book about a robot nanny, not a granny molester.) And we had pancakes. Pancakes make everything better, right?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaijinwife
    May 30, 2013 @ 09:19:50

    pancakes definitely makes everything better. Well, that and wine. xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

