iDad

HRH has this week off. Off as in he hasn’t been going to the office, not as in he hasn’t been working.

It’s aggravating.

He disappeared with his phone while we were eating lunch. The kids had a play at Bornelund, and he spent the whole time on the phone.

It’s really loud in there, so I’m not entirely sure how that was possible.

While the kids did kingyo-sukui (mean old mom won’t let them take the goldfish home, though) where was HRH? That’s right, on his phone.

He’s like an iDad, only virtually there.

For most of us, most of the time, I think having a mobile phone is a good thing. But for the average Japanese “salaryman,” it’s turned work into a 24/7 365 kind of thing.

Sort of like being a mother, I guess… But with pay.

What bothers me is that my kids are going to grow up and think that is NORMAL.

Just turn the damn phone off, man.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hamakkomommy
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 21:41:36

    STILL on the phone. It’s been non-stop for the last four hours. Surely the battery is almost dead?! The Kidd and I have to be quiet so as not to bother him. The kids are in bed norm but I want to watch TV, dammit, and I can’t.

    Reply

  2. hamakkomommy
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 21:43:03

    I don’t know who The Kidd is…

    Reply

  3. Ruby Doom
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 04:34:28

    Hide the chargers! I’ve often wondered what would happen if I had a little psychotic moment with some scissors and the network cables in our house…

    Reply

  4. gaijinwife
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 16:05:55

    haha – love Ruby’s advice. Hub has a new galexy and has no idea how to do anything other than answer like, um, a telephone. Thank god. If he ever discovers angry birds like I have we’ll never talk :) PS, do you only come down here in times of natural disaster? About time you made the trek again me thinks. me hopes.

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Aug 16, 2013 @ 16:59:10

      I was thinking the same thing about a trip down there.

      I have been known to unplug the wifi when he’s fiddling around on his iPod, but unfortunately that doesn’t stop the cell phone.

      ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

