Sixalicious

Tomorrow is Me Too’s birthday.

She wants me to write a book for her, like I did last year. It’s nice to have a fan. At least my kids love the books I can’t seem to get anyone in The Business to look at.

It’s kind of funny; from their point of view, they can have a new story whipped up for them anytime they fancy. It’s easy. Mommy is always happy to do it (though, frankly, I have gotten bored of doing new ‘Micey Mouse Clubhouse’ stories every night.)

But six (sigh.)

I’m struggling with.

In Japan, at six, you are thrust upon the world. Ready or not. You will go to elementary school, where one size fits all, from the little desks to the size of your lunch serving, the pace you work through your schoolbooks and the size of the lines in your notebook, there is only one size. And my little darling, because of me, you will never be an exact fit.

Of course, I could be overthinking it. Six was a hard time for Me First. I was still in a fog of shock and grief since Dad had died a few months before. The earthquake happened, and it shook me up in ways besides the obvious.

But maybe I’ll still come up with some inspiration. Six doesn’t have to be sad. Maybe it will be sixalicious.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gaijinwife
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 15:06:18

    Sixalicious sounds like a great plan. We have our sixalicious party next month. Happy Birthday Me Too. xx

    Reply

  2. ds
    Sep 07, 2013 @ 10:33:22

    Congratulations to MeToo on the big milestone!

    Frankly though, you don’t need to be so negative about it, blaming yourself that she won’t fit in. Trust me, it is better to embrace the difference than apologize for it. We as parents of bicultural kids are actually very lucky. We have a ready-made excuse for anything we don’t like, don’t want to participate in, and so on. I can’t remember the number of times I “played the gaijin card” for myself or my son at that age. It works, and let’s everyone involved feel comfortable. Growing up bilingual and bicultural is a tremendous gift, and a real advantage for our kids later in life.

    I feel the sorriest for full-blooded Japanese who for whatever reason have trouble conforming. The returnees especially can have it bad. OTOH, we can have the best of both worlds!

    Reply

  3. Karin
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 22:20:59

    you are a great writer, your kids are lucky to get personal stories

    Reply

Leave a Reply

