63 Candles

Dear Dad,

This is a day late, but you won’t mind. You probably forgot yourself, right? But I guess your excuse is better than mine, since you’re dead. You have the master of excuses for anything these days.

Anyway.

So, let’s see….things that have happened in the past year that you ought to know about…. There ain’t much. Not that nothing has happened, the sky is always falling down here, just that I haven’t kept up with it.

The big thing I guess is that brother got married. I know! I figured she’d come to here senses in time, too! But nope, we snagged her.

It was weird, not having you there. It was weird having someone else sit in your seat. I’m okay with weird (I think we both know that,) but I gotta be free to acknowledge the weirdness, you know? Not just to pretend that all is peachy keen all the frickin’ time.

You put me in an awkward position, too, you know. If you hadn’t been dying at the time, I might have said something to you. You didn’t have to hide it, Dad. I get what that was like. You didn’t need to protect me. I just wanted for you to be happy. And then not to rub my face in it.

Let’s see…what else… Kids got bigger, they lost more teeth. At this point, I think Me First is the only one who really remembers you as anything but a sick, old man with no shirt on. He still gets sad. He still cries for you sometimes. I think he’s still trying to wrap his little mind around the never-endingness of it. Those of us over thirty have given up trying to really understand.

I hope you’re spending your days catching up with old friends (though maybe your friends aren’t up there? Ha!) If it’s true about a day there being like a thousand years here, then maybe you don’t miss us yet.

But we miss you.

(Even if you were becoming a grumpy old fart.)

Love,
Me

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 04:36:55

    Sixty-three candles to be exact (born in 1950).

    Reply

  2. gaijinwife
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 09:31:39

    xxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

