Lazy Mice

When HRH doesn’t need dinner, which happens about once a week, we usually have sandwiches or leftovers. You know what they say about missing cats and playful mice. Or in this case maybe it’s just lazy mice.

Today, he sent me an email saying he would eat out.

At 5pm.

I already had this crustless quiche in the oven. But there will be enough left for breakfast, so I’ll be able to sleep in. Which at this point in my life means lounging in bed until the luxurious hour of 6:30am, but I’ll take it.

Due to a high number of unpredictable and random events, I didn’t make it to the grocery store today. Quiche is a good fallback for me on days like this. I usually have the ingredients in the fridge, and it can reappear at breakfast and in lunchboxes. Eggselent.

I’ll write about the random events later. First I need alcohol. And sunglasses, since it involves Sparkly Mom. Who may or may not be batshit crazy.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. becca
    Nov 30, 2013 @ 06:57:14

    crustless quiche sounds great! would you be willing to share the recipe? Curious to hear how you got on with sparkly mom!

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Nov 30, 2013 @ 21:23:17

      I’m so not a measurer, especially when it comes to something like quiche. This time, I put some frozen spinach in my glass pie pan, defrosted it in the microwave, then added four eggs (my pie pan is small. If I had an American one I would probably have used six eggs.) I cut up some ham and threw it in there, added cheese (maybe a cup?) and some whole milk (maybe also a cup-ish.) I added a little salt and pepper, then mixed it all together with a whisk. Put it in the oven at 200C for 30 minutes.

      Sparkly Mom (sigh.) Will write about that when I have a few minutes to get my thoughts together.

      Reply

  2. becca
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 05:50:37

    sounds oishii! shall try it soon. thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

