The Gift

One of the more difficult things about transitioning from a full time kids’ English teacher to a stay-at-home mom, for me, was that suddenly I had no positive feedback. At all.

Babies aren’t prone to saying things like, “Yummy breastmilk, Mom!” or “You handled that diaper blowout really well.”

Husbands, or mine at least, don’t notice when things are clean, food is ready, children are fed and clean, spending is within budget. They only notice when things are not perfect.

Strangers don’t come up after the fact and compliment me on my ability to keep my head from exploding mid-tantrum.

Children don’t thank me later for lessons learned when they’ve been punished.

To marry a house (that’s why we call them housewives, right?) is to basically relinquish any hope of ever hearing words of appreciation ever again.

So when my little students today gave me a gift and cards, it was the first time in a very long time that I’ve felt appreciated.

And that’s a mighty nice feeling.

Leave a Reply

