Resolution Time

Resolutions.

Do we still do that? Perhaps the rest of mankind, bar yours truly of course, have evolved to a level of perfection past the point of needing such things.

Or maybe that’s just the people on Pinterest.

I’m still in the thick, muddy middle of evolving to my higher self. I define that as someone who yells less than thrice in the morn and does not gorge herself on the sweet, chocolatey plunder from her children’s Christmas stockings.

Obviously, there’s a lot of work to be done.

My resolutions for 2014 (how the hell did that happen?) are to yell less, to only do it when it’s necessary (like something dangerous,) and not from my own frustration.

The other resolution I copied from a friend. She resolved to have a fruit or vegetable every time she eats. I get plenty myself, but I’ll start offering them to my kids at snack time, too. I should have been doing this all along, considering some of Me Too’s favorite snacks include an ear of corn and an entire whole cucumber.

Snack time always seems to catch me unprepared. Me Too is unpredictable in her eating, and when her blood sugar gets low she becomes a tantruming maniac. I try to stay ahead of it, but it’s hard. Some days she gets like that even after a good meal. That catches me off guard, and I give her whatever I have at hand to just STOP the INSANITY. Then Me First ends up getting something, too, to be fair and before you know it they’ve had half a bag of gummies and enough rice crackers to feed a squirrel for a year.

I’m not gonna be a hard ass about it, though. If we have to raid the occasional coffee shop because my store of snacks has worn down and we were out longer than I’d expected, I won’t beat myself up over it.

How about all of you? Any resolutions to share?

Leave a Reply

