We interrupt this blog…

We interrupt this blog to bring you influenza! Brought to you by the boys at school.

Me First has been home since Sunday with the flu. Yes, he’d had his shots. No, I don’t get my money back.

All the sickness kinda put a damper on my blogging efforts, and well, all of my efforts come to think of it.

Wednesday was the worst because he was feeling well enough to want to play, but not well enough to take crap from his sister, who comes home before lunch on Wednesdays. I’d asked MIL the day before to take her out for a bit. But she called me the day of and said she was going out that afternoon, sorry.

All well and good for her, I suppose. It’s not like we live in this neighborhood on the edge of Yokohama far from all the foreigners and English speaking doctors, etc., just because the in-laws promised to help when I need it. Oh, hang on…

She could have called me in the morning so I could put Me Too into after care at preschool, but oh well. Just another reminder of who it is I can depend on (my damn self,) and who will be riding the pink bus to daycare for the elderly when the time comes.

What’s upset me is the where and why of the outing: a make-up scrapbooking class. MIL graciously agreed to the change in day because the other student’s kid was sick.

I couldn’t make this stuff up, could I?

Anyway. Where was I? Pink bus, check.

Me First is feeling tons better but can’t go back to school yet. School rules say a minimum of three full fever free days after the flu before you can go back. Last year was two. The year before that was one.

We’re on Day 3 now. I wouldn’t have sent him today, anyway. He needs to rebuild some strength. He slept 12 hours last night and has been eating non-stop for two days!

Now, back to your regularly scheduled programming…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kym
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 12:19:35

    Maybe with this stretching out of the quarantine time, it means the schools are getting smarter?! Someone mentioned some illness (there are too many going around now for me to even keep up with) being contagious for 5 days even after the symptoms had gone…. Did you get told what strain he got? Hope the rest of your fam continues to avoid it. I think two kids at our yochien have had Flu #B, and one #A, or the other way round….
    And WTH is wrong with your MiL?! I think that when she’s older she should just get left alone in a room full of scrap books.

    Reply

    • hamakkomommy
      Jan 24, 2014 @ 13:21:06

      It’s flu B.

      Apparently the problem is that some kids respond very quickly with the newer medicines and only have a fever for a day or two. Then they get sent back to school while they are still sick/contagious and it spreads like wildfire.

      Of course the source of flu at Y’s school is the teacher. Wait, I haven’t blogged about that yet!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

