Panic

Yesterday, I went to pick the kids up from after care at school. (I had been in a PTA meeting all afternoon.)

And they told me Me Too wasn’t there.

Where to even start? I was horrified. I was mortified. I was livid.

I trust these people with my children. It seems to me the very least they could do was ensure the children were where they were supposed to be.

Me First and I ran home, and thank god she was there on the landing. The poor little lamb had been waiting there for almost TWO HOURS.

There just are no words. The whole thing was beyond awful.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elle
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 10:58:03

    That is despicable. How old is your daughter as a matter of interest? Not that it even matters, regardless of her age something like that should never happen. What happens next?

    Reply

  2. Lisa
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 20:18:07

    They owe you an apology.
    Our daughter “escaped” from hoikuen when she was 5 — she and a friend went on a little adventure, and the teachers took total responsibility for this incident (even though, let’s face it, a 5-year old who really wants to escape is probably going to figure out a way to do it). We got a heartfelt apology with TEARS — teacher tears, even though everyone was soon found, safe & sound. In fact, her main teacher was subsequently transferred to another hoikuen, and we wondered if it was because of this incident.
    They owe you an apology. I can’t say this enough!

    Reply

  3. Susie
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 00:10:28

    There is a clause in our day camp for the city that says if a child leaves they can’t hold them against their will. They have to be signed in and a parent can pick them up at any time but if the student leaves they don’t have to chase them down or bring them back. My step-son is 10 with ADHD and Autism Spectrum Disorder… sometimes he just tends to wander. It worries us to death but luckily the play ground is as far as he has wandered and he loves being at day camp. But still, the thought frightens me every time we drop him off.

    Reply

  4. gaijinwife
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 15:52:40

    You are paying them. They offer a service and this is unbelievable. I am so angry reading this. I can just see myself in a similar situation and trying to find Marina on the 2km journey home. I would be in a huge panic and thinking the worst. God what a horrible experience. Our one isn’t part of the school or education board at all I don’t think but could you mention it to the BOE? Write a letter or go in with your wild rainy season hair guns a blazing? And slap HR round the side of the head. Not thinking this is serious is lame. She’s only 6. xxx

    Reply

  5. Mrs. N
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 23:21:38

    I agree with Gaijinwife and the others here! Everytime I read stuff like this I’m thankful our kids are grown and we didn’t have little kids here. I was livid reading your story here! I want to find the teachers and ream them a new one! How terrible for you -this is deplorable! I’m hoping you put your foot down and someone got the message that this was just N.O.T okay!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

