Real Christmas

So my kids have never done a “Real Christmas.” I’ve had the freedom to pick and choose what traditions we follow (stockings!) and what we don’t (basically anything I find stressful.)
 This year, we are going to the US for the first time during holiday season, and I’m finding all the shopping and stuff to be a bit overwhelming. I mean, apparently special Christmas pajamas at a thing?? I think someone else is taking care of that.

Most of the year end Japan stuff is just not going to happen. I mean, that giant year end cleaning thing? That doesn’t get proper attention on a good year, much less this one. HRH made up nengajo the other day, then casually declares that yours truly need to write a poem to go in them.
Um, what??
I did do this one year. I should have known that no good deed goes without having a mile taken. My engineer right-brained husband has little understanding (or appreciation for) the creative process. It just doesn’t happen like that. It’s not like solving an equation, you know?
But anyway:
Here’s my poem

Sorry it’s crass

I wrote it cause

Hubby’s an ass.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane Miller
    Dec 09, 2015 @ 11:18:51

    Love your poem! Have a good Christmas! Love your blog!

    Reply

  2. rebootme
    Dec 09, 2015 @ 18:21:31

    Ha ha! Love the poem. Better than any poem *I’ve* ever written. Christmas pyjamas????! Only in the US. Stress=how to take all the fun out of Christmas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

